Ariel, Nano Wolves 1, Donna McDonald

 

amazon UK buy link

 

Genre:  Sci-fi and Fantasy, Romance

I love fantasy romances especially those with shifters, and having read the amazon sample I was looking forward to this. A lead character that a scientist, and the nano technology side looked to provide some interesting reading.

That sample though was the best of the book for me. For a scientist Ariel didn’t really act that way, and she and the girls were very accepting of the new life they’d been plunged into. I didn’t really like any of them that much, they seemed quite cold characters. There’s a lot of sex here too – and I love sex in a story, but at times here the sex IS the story and that’s not good for me. I need a solid tale backing the sex side up.  I also felt really uncomfortable about Reed. Ancient, hundreds of years old werewolf, Native Indian, waist length dark hair, can mind speak to Ariel, and the biggie – because of his heritage can change to and from wolf keeping his clothes….familiar to any readers of Patricia Briggs novels. I know there’s crossovers and influences, conscious and unconscious in novels, but this was a step just too far for me.

I expected the nanos to provide something new, to give a different angle rather than just seem to be the answer to all issues. Its a bit like how I hate when characters get some magical new power, previously unheard of, right at the point they need it. The nanos seemed the answer to every problem the girls had ( For instance how Ariel as a very, very new wolf can so effortlessly beat much older, supposedly stronger ones).  I guess I just need characters to struggle a bit. Here it felt like everything came fairly easily to the group, and they were just so accepting of everything about this new world. I thought they – especially Ariel – would have questions and more curiosity but…

If it wasn’t for the sex I’d think this was a teen and YA read, and that’s not a criticism of YA stories, I’ve read some great ones. The story and plots are written in the way many YA reads are, but then most YA reads don’t have endless sex in. The writing has that same kind of straightforward flow, simplistic style and language, with the plots being a bit obvious in what’s going to happen. I just expected a bit more mystery, issues, questions, and dramas. Its got lovers of course ( of the book, not just in the book!) and it shows what I’ve often said, how we all enjoy different types of story. Its just not one for me despite that initial promise.

Stars: two and a half, a great premise but the story didn’t live up to it for me.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

