Redemption,  Kate Douglas

amazon UK buy link

 

 

Genre:   Romance

I enjoyed the first novel in this series but with a couple of reservations about communication between the leads, Kaz and Jake. Then getting into this book, Jake’s brother Ben is thinking about the mistakes Jake and Kaz made in not being open with each other, not telling each other what they were concerned about, and how it led to danger for them. So I guess my reservations were unfounded, and it was part of the set up for this story 🙂 Sorry Kate, I understand now.

We met Ben at the end of the last book, and he’s such a haunted character. Been running from himself and what he did for the last twenty years, from his guilt at letting Jake down, from his horror at being responsible for the deaths of a mother and son. He joined the Army as soon as the police let him go, before the trial, assuming that because of his age Jake would get off lightly..now he’s horrified to hear what happened, to find out how Jake was abandoned by his parents. Luckily he’s has one stalwart supporter though it all, their childhood friend Marcus ( and I’m hoping he and Mandy are the subjects of book three!)

Ben  wants to get to know Jake, is back in the US to finish his service with only a few months left, and gets taken in by the girls, Kaz, Lola and her sister Mandy. They are so warm and openhearted, didn’t have the greatest family lives themselves and have created their own little trio, which recently has widened to include Jake and Marcus and now Ben, and brings in others when they feel they need the support. They just seem to welcome everyone with open arms ( and platefuls of much appreciated home cooking) and its really lovely to read. I’d love friends like that, to be like that.

As soon as Ben sees Lola something stirs for both of them, an attraction that just can’t be ignored and its not long before they’re headlong in a sexy, sensual, steamy romance. Neither has ever felt like this before, but go along with it, trusting in their feelings. There’s some very erotic and heated encounters, much as there was between Kaz and Jake….well written scenes, not the over done, dull, repetitive ones I’ve complained about in other novels recently. It takes more than endless pages of dirty phrases and sex at every possible moment to make a good and sensual book. Sadly I’ve had a clutch of the other sort over the last couple of weeks, not all review books thankfully, some free, some KU so I’ve been able to just delete them. Its great then to get back to an author who knows that it takes more to write a good sex scene, and works to keep the balance of sex and story correct.

Ben’s been serving in some tough areas, and doesn’t realise it but the danger didn’t stay abroad, but has followed him back bringing the girls, Marc and Jake into danger too. It’s well written and kept me guessing who and what was behind it, didn’t get it right but that’s part of the fun, seeing how things tie up together, what I missed in trying to work it out. Of course bringing danger to them all gives Ben even more guilt but Lola, clever and sound thinking Lola, persuades him its not his fault, that its the perpetrators who are to blame. He needs that reassurance, he’s found something to live for in her and Jake, but at times over the past years the guilt has been such that he courted the danger, uncaring of if he died…suicidal thoughts have plagued him too. Lola wants to keep him away from that mind-set.

The story and dangers gather speed, bringing in more people, local cops, FBI, those behind the danger, and ends in another climatic but realistic finale. A great read and well worth the five for me.

Stars: Five, can be read as a standalone but would be better to read the first book to get the full story.

 

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

2 responses to “Redemption,  Kate Douglas”

  1. Kate Douglas says :

    Ah, Jeannie, you have no idea how I was absolutely DYING to say something about the communication thing, so I’m really glad you had the time to read Redemption. And I’d love to say it was part of a planned story arc, but for that I have to credit the muse. I rarely know what’s going to happen when I start a book, but somehow the stories generally come together. I’m convinced there’s a “lizard brain” that’s totally primitive, working in the background all the time, keeping track of the crap the conscious brain is up to. In my case, if I’m lucky, they occasionally trade notes.

    Thanks so much for the great review, and mainly, thank you for enjoying the story. I think I got way too attached to Ben and I really wanted him to find his happily ever after. And yes, you will see how Mandy and Marc work things out in Awakened, though their story is totally different than what’s been going on so far. And that is ALL I’m going to say about that!

    • jeanniezelos says :

      Thanks Kate. I am amazed how how authors write – do they plan a whole series in detail? a rough outline? if they don’t plan then how do they link back things that seem as it they were planned? How on earth do they keep track of the characters – who said what, and where, and when and why? I’m in awe of you.
      When I can’t sleep I have a few shots at “writing” a story, but I never get very far, clearly don’t have the “lizard” brain!!
      When I’m painting I just start with an idea, or even just a colour and see what develops. I have mentally done some quite complex works, and then when it comes to paper and paint the painting takes ion its own life and turns out totally different. I guess that’s why I’m have a suck-it-and-see approach to life, plans always seem a waste when they get changed so much 😉
      I didn’t really think I’d love Ben so much from what we knew in last book, but then you authors always do that to me, pull me in and make me look at the circumstances of what happened from another side, and of course I soon fell in love with him.
      Marc and Mandy I already love – looking forward for what you cook up for them.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

