Her Secret Lover, Robin Covington

amazon UK buy link

Genre:   Romance

I’;m writing this review ahead of publication, its actually 24th December and yesterday I wanted something light and easy to read, something I knew I’d enjoy, that would take away a bit of Xmas stress….I’m sure lots know that feeling, not just Xmas but other family holiday times. Anyway, I knew I liked Robin’s writing style so this one came out first choice.

Its a fun read, perfect blend of hot and sensual romance with a hint of vulnerability from both leads. I loved Kelsey, love the way she was devoted to her sick mum and determined to help her dad support her. Getting the promotion to management training would make a huge difference. Then one of the hotels High Roller customers wants a one on one fan day for his wife with author Micah Holmes who’s staying there at a Romance Writers Convention. He hates publicity though, really struggles with that side of fame and has so far always refused to do a one on one day. If Kelsey can somehow swing it her promotion would be guaranteed, conversely its indicated that if she doesn’t get it fixed it won’t go well for her. They’re not a couple used to being turned down. They added yet another edge to the novel, I really enjoyed them as part of the story. Reminded me of some people I’ve met in the past!

Micah is lovely, a really genuine man, though jaded from his past experience with romance. Despite writing about True Love and making millions from it he doesn’t believe that for him at least it exists. Then he meets Kelsey, his assigned concierge for the duration of his stay – wow – what a great introduction they had. What an icebreaker – it made me snigger… a lot! The attraction on both sides is instant but they hide it, Kelsey because it’d mean she loses her job and she’s had bad past experiences, and Micah – well, he’s kind of gobsmacked and confused. He doesn’t usually get that kind of reaction to meeting someone.
Eventually of course they both admit their feelings, and they manage to covertly have some very sensual and erotic encounters, though they’ve both agreed its a short term just till Sunday fling, but both are feeling more than just attraction. Kelsey still has the fan day experience to arrange though, it never seems the right time to ask, and the closer they get the more she can’t bring herself to do it – but she really needs that promotion. It doesn’t help that the lady making the request is ….well, you’ll have to read but I loved it, and it added an edge to what seems like a simple request.
Of course secrets always come out at the wrong time, and what her friends had warned her about happens, and that leads to some intense drama and disaster for Kelsey. I love drama that plays out over time, that hits just at the right moment, right at the peak of attraction and developing feelings, and this was timed perfectly. I was waiting all the way through, thinking “ is this going to be where it gets out?” at several opportunities, but Robin keeps the reader waiting till the perfect time. I was so upset for both of them, what they had was special, more than just the attraction of lust.

Stars: Five,it’s a fun read, with some heat and drama in it. Its got a perfect ending too – fits really well with what had previously been discussed. I’m not sure I’d reread it but as a one off it was perfect for me.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest reviews for children's, middle grade, teen and adult books.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

