Touched by a Vampire, Eternally Yours Book One, Sophie Slade

 

amazon UK buy link

 

Genre: Erotica, Sci-fi &Fantasy.

I’m a sucker for vampire stories and liked the sound of this. It tuned out to be just an Ok read for me though….still, its first book in a series which is always a hard task so I’ll try book two to see if things get better for me.

Leila, she’s an A&E doc, and yet seems able to choose her hours, come and go as she pleases without any kind of reprimand or any thought of how that affects her job and the other staff….She’s married but its an odd marriage, where she and husband Steven work opposite hours and don’t see each other for days. Weird ? She doesn’t seem to be concerned even when he’s not home when he should be, and she can only get his answerphone. Then there’s Lance. He’s seen Leila and wants her, and goes all out to impress her. As others have mentioned the constant use of the phrase Renaissance man just didn’t fit and was odd.

There didn’t seem to really be much of a story, just Lance courting in his odd way Leila, and the effects on her life it had. There’s sex, lots and lots of sex, but for me it wasn’t erotic. It needs to be more than constant pages of repetitious words to make a story erotic for me. I need to feel a real connection between the characters, and I hadn’t got it here. It amazes me how it seems every time they have sex its the best orgasm she’s ever had…that seems common to so many romance reads though 😉

It just seemed to be a story that was not really happening – a kind of Vampire Lite read, where the sex really takes the place of the story. Things like Leila’s experiments towards the end; it didn’t seem realistic that she has this idea, spend a day working on it, and then she’d fixed something huge, massive, life-changing, that others had been working on for centuries…It was that kind of reality (or lack of it) that made the book feel flimsy, simplistic, superficial to me. It wasn’t a bad read, but not a good one for me, though the excitement did pick up towards the end and throw in a few surprises. Supernatural people of all types popping up everywhere then!

I’m kind of confused about how to rate this, it had some good ideas but in practice everything was just so simplified, almost dumbed down. I didn’t two star Dislike it but then its hard to say its a three star Good read. I guess I’ll go in the middle at two and a half. I’ll try the next book to see if it picks up as I have it on my kindle, and maybe it’ll pick up the pace and intensity a bit.

Stars: Two and a half

 

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest reviews for children's, middle grade, teen and adult books.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

