Getting Rough, (Monkey Business Trio 2), C.L. Parker

 

 

amazon UK buy link

Genre:  Romance,

Well, I had a quick reread of the end chapters of part one to refresh my mind and on to this one. What really irritated was they Still don’t use condoms….not a good message to be putting out. that aside though this is a fast paced, sexy read.

I enjoyed this but….it all takes place in Cassidy’s hometown, and I missed Denver, Quinn and co and all they brought to the story. We do meet Casey though and the rest of his and Cassidy’s family, along with a romance author staying at the B&B, Mia. Cassidy annoyed me at times – she wanted Shaw but didn’t want to want him. She still saw Casey as being “hers” and was jealous of the time he spent with Mia, especially as it was clear Mia was attracted to him. Yet it’s clear to everyone she and Shaw are more than just work colleagues yet she doesn’t seem to think of how Casey will feel. She really does want to have her cake and eat it…

Its a fun read, full of the same hot and erotic sex as the first part and I enjoyed meeting the rest of the family, seeing Cassidy’s home and friends but…for me the story didn’t really work so well as before. I missed the sports connection, ( and I’m not even a sports fan) as it seemed from the first part to be a huge section of the story. Could Cassidy and Shaw really take weeks off work without any repercussions in the way they did? It didn’t feel right to me, and I felt this part was disconnected from the first part of the story with only Shaw and Cassidy linking to it. Still, that’s just my opinion of course and I know this will be perfect for others.

Its got some very emotional moments, where they need to face what they are doing and how they feel. The evening where everything comes to a head was great, full of drama that felt very edge of seat. That scene when Shaw…well, let’s say I was really scared for him, knew he’d make it because, doh – part three – but what would it do, how would it affect him?

If you’re looking for a hot and sexy read this is fun, but I felt that for me that the story lacked something, and was a bit too forced feeling at times, as if events happened purely to get Shaw and Cassidy in position for yet more (condom free!!) sex.  Usually I read a book in one sitting, but this one I kept putting aside as I was losing interst in events.

Stars: Three.

 

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

