Suddenly Spellbound, The Ivie McKie Chronicles Book 2,  Erica Lucke Dean

amazon UK buy link

 

Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance

This is a perfect example of not giving up on an author just because one book hasn’t worked for you. I’d read Craving Caine and I didn’t like it – just a two star, but this is a different genre and sounded such fun. It was, and I really wish I’d asked for book one when it was on for review – I read the sample just to get a flavour of the background, and now having enjoyed this so much I’m going to buy that when there’s a gap in the TBR list.

So, having learned she’s a sorceress, turned her ex into a skunk – the wild furry type – and back, brought back her dad from his animal spell, when everyone thought he’d been dead for many years Ivie is finally looking happy. Has a job she loves, great friends and is about to marry the wonderful Jack and live happily ever after…except this is Ivie, and trouble sticks to her like s hit to a blanket ( one of my nan’s favourite sayings when I was a kid!)

Ivie’s dad is being very strange, but she feels she owes him, he’s her dad and she’s not seen him for so long. When he asks her to help him and his new apprentice Liam with a tiny, simple spell she feels she has to. She’d promised Jack not to do magic as it brought her into such trouble each time but surely he’ll understand, its only something simple and its her dad, she can’t say no. Of course nothing is simple or easy when it comes to her dad and Ivie ends up caught in another disaster.

The book goes like this all the way through, with poor Ivie getting into more and more trouble, and having to try to find a way out of the mire her dad has landed her in. Its hard to say too much without giving important elements away but Ivie has to make some really hard choices towards the end and I feel for her.

When I started reading I thought this would be a light, simplistic read but its got surprising depth among the humour, and the balance is just perfect. Its an easy read, the writing flows well, the plots build on each other and there are some wonderful characters and I really really enjoyed this read.

The end though – gah! I hate cliff-hangers, even though this one is tinged with humour. I’ve no doubt Ivie will work her way through it but hope its not too long before book three comes out 🙂

 

 

Stars: Five, a fun easy read with some unexpected depth to it.

 

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers for honest review

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

One response to “Suddenly Spellbound, The Ivie McKie Chronicles Book 2,  Erica Lucke Dean”

  1. Mary Smith says :

    Oh, I was with you all the way until the cliff-hanger! 😦

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

