Captive: A Graced Novella, Amanda Pillar, and free books for valentines day

Captive: A Graced Novella,  Amanda Pillar

amazon UK buy link

Genre: Romance, Sci-fi and Fantasy.

I’m not a fan of novella’s and usually avoid them, but the fact this sounds like a prequel to a full series plus this quote “This post-apocalyptic romance is perfect for fans of Laurell K Hamilton, Nalini Singh, and Anne Bishop’s Others series.” drew me in.

There’s a lot packed into such a short space, just over 100 pages. There’s Humans, Weres, Vampires and Graced,who are humans with extras…and all of them hate each other. Thanks to that a civil war has pretty much decimated them, and the few humans left in the world are mostly kept captive by the Vamps, who need the blood and the Weres who eat human liver – eurghh…Given liver surgery is tricky, livers bleed a LOT,  I had a hard time believing that a human/were with a bit of medical knowledge but no real resources, could successfully take chunks out of the humans every six months and keep them alive. Its not without risk now, so in these very primitive times most of them would have died…and dead food is finite.

I liked the characters from what little we know of them, but it was pretty obvious what was going to happen, and I just felt a lack of any kind of suspense, any mystery about what was developing. It was almost as if problem and solution was presented in the same chapter. The battles were over before they began, and as for the ending, well, like most of the novel, it was over so quickly, very simplified, and I just couldn’t believe that suddenly the answer to everything came out of a sub standard lab and a couple of people, when humans in their heyday with everything at their finger tips couldn’t do it. Stretched my credulity too far.

I guess as a prequel it works OK in introducing those who I assume ( I haven’t read Graced) are going to be major characters, but as a novel in its own right its just not for me. As for the comparisons with Nalini Singh and Anne Bishop’s Others – No,Nope, Nothing like any of those stories at all IMO. I did finish the novel but wouldn’t have if it had been longer, and I can’t say I really enjoyed it nor yet that I really disliked it. I won’t be reading further into the series, even though they may be stronger reads. Fans of the series may like to get a perspective on earlier events maybe and it could well be a hit with them, but not me.

Stars: sadly a two, just didn’t cut it for me.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers for review purposes

Free reads 

Becky Wicks Day of the Wave is free today. I reviewed this on here a while back, its a great read. 

amazon UK buy link

amazon US buy link

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Boy Toy Chronicles - Volume Oneinstafreebie linkIgniteinstafreebie link

 

IncitelinkBound in BluelinkOver the Hills and Far Awaylink

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

