Night Study,  Maria V. Snyder

amazon UK buy link  Amazon com link

 

Genre:  Sci-fi and Fantasy

I love this series, but the very first book, Poison Study, is still the one I enjoyed most, where Valek and Yelena were together for so much of the time. This book sees that happen quite a lot again, not as much as I’d like of course but…I love too getting the different viewpoints from characters, it gives a much more rounded idea about what is and could be happening.

I love seeing Janco and Ari back as major characters, together with Valek and Yelena they are the major mainstays of the series for me. There’s lots of surprises here, once again poor Yelena is in danger, and they’ve learned some things about the attack on her in the last book that worries them. Waht’s really the motive and why? Yelena is very vulnerable with the loss of her magic and thus an easy target.
There’s a real danger of conflict between the two countries,its getting tough for them to know what is really behind recent events. The Commander doesn’t seem to be telling Valek everything and discussing it as he would have done not so long ago, and Valek feels his loyalty to Yelena is overriding that of his to the Commander especially given the current circumstances. It seems that the Commander isn’t going to tell him why he didn’t reveal what was going on in the last book, that led to so much danger for them. He’s changed so much from the very straight forward magic hating but very ethical person he was, and his aims seem to be taking a sinister twist. Valek is worried, is the Commander going to turn on him and Yelena? It certainly looks that way, as if he no longer trusts Valek and it puts them in grave danger, but why? What’s behind it? Is he in his own mind or has someone got at him? All’s not well back in Sitia either, with things going on there that mean Yelena doesn’t know who to trust anymore. War between the two sides is looking more and more likely with devastating consequences for them all.
Its another packed instalment with some huge surprises in store, especially to me over the issue of the Commander. I just can’t feel that what looks like his aim is really what he wants, and his words to Valek? Wow – that’s a shock!! Valek has a few big surprises to come in this book too, real life changing ones..
I am beginning to get a little tired of the issues of Null Shields, Theobroma and Curare though. It seems that they are becoming the catch all solution for both sides, and it means its very difficult to see what can happen when one of these “new” solutions keeps popping up. In some ways it evens the playing field, but I’m just not convinced when they seem to be the answers to every problem. I was happier when I knew it was down to the talents and skills ( good or bad) of certain individuals, whether magical or just well trained. Still, I do really want the next book now 😉
.
Stars: Four, another great read and I need some answers….

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

