Archive | March 5, 2016

No Place Like Home, Jennifer Kacey

No Place Like Home,  Jennifer Kacey

Genre:   Romance

I loved the description of this – I’m a sucker for the turnaround type novel, where people grow up into those they’d never imagined even in their dreams. I was bullied at school for being a small, shapeless, dark skinned glasses wearer. gave a lot of scope for taunts there….so I loved how Charlie has transformed and yet still inside she’s that bullied schoolchild. Kids can be cruel even if they don’t mean to be and it stays with those affected.

Sadly though I loved the way Charlie returned to her childhood town and gobsmacked the man she’d crushed on from afar, this story just didn’t work for me. Its well written, but a bit short for me, something I missed, and that brevity only allows for a quick skim of events and problems. What I struggled with was everyone was so nice, its was like a pastiche of a perfect life. No gossips, no jealousies, no nasty situations, everything just fell into place perfectly,  and for me I need the drama and angst that comes from when situations go wrong. I just felt this was so sweet, so gentle and everyone so perfect in motives and actions, that it made me feel the way I do after eating something really sweet – you know – how it makes your teeth ache even though there was nothing nasty about it.

If you love a sweet, happy now and ever after read, a romance that’s gentle and unswerving, then this will be a terrific, perfect read for you. Sadly I need a bit more nasty to balance all that love and kindness….Its an example of how we all need different things from our reading.

Stars: Two and a half, there were a few parts I enjoyed but overall its not one for me even though its perfect for others.

 

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author