Archive | March 11, 2016

Silence that Sizzles, (Urban Dwellers 1), A Werebear Romance Suspense, Ivy Sinclair

amazon UK buy link  Amazon com link

 

Genre:  Romance, Sci-fi and Fantasy.

I wasn’t sure what to expect here. Ivy has written lots of novels but I’ve never read any yet. Somehow they looked a bit too like the fluffy, cute shifter romances that dominate in the best sellers. They’re clearly right for many many readers, which is great, but just don’t do it for me. I like mine to be more in the Briggs, Andrews, Frost mode. Still, this sounded interesting, it wasn’t a novella as so many of this type are so I wanted to try it, hoping I was wrong.

I feel kind of mixed about it though. Kyle seemed horribly grumpy and whiny for such a respected man,and  Kelly  was a bit cold I felt. I didn’t feel genuine emotions from either of them despite the way the story slanted. I didn’t feel the chemistry between them that I needed. Additonally Kyle has issues he’s keeping quiet about, and I can see by the end they’ll (hopefully) be covered later, but I needed a bit more about them in this book, a bit more understanding of him and his problems would maybe have made me understand him more.  Sophie, one of the bar staff was the best character. She’s got such character, is a real winner. We saw little of Eric, nothing of Anthony and as they were the other two in the trio that runs the city and oversee everything it seemed strange. I thought they were friends but they didn’t feel like it. It just felt like everyone was detached, no real cohesion between them.

The plot(s) were really very interesting and I can see will make for a great series but… once more I just felt it was Problem – oh, meet Solution. Something that seems to happen a lot and that doesn’t work for me. There was very little real struggle, real action and everything fitted together very slickly. I need more struggle, more potential for everything to go wrong. It seemed an anti climax, over in a few pages when it could have been chapters long, led to so much complex actions. This part, about 80-90% of the book location, was for me by far the best. Sadly  I felt so much of what is a really good idea, a plot that could go far, was rushed and condensed into this short section, when it had the potential to be really drawn out and complex.

First books in a series are hard to do though, they have a big ask with world setting, characters and plots all being introduced at once, and maybe I’ve been overly harsh. Its a good read, but I just felt it had the potential to be a five star Great read from me. Still, – like those best sellers – it’ll be five star for many many readers ;-). Not everyone wants in depth drama and plots. I’ll look out for the next one before finally deciding whether to pass or stay with this series.

Stars: Three, great potential series

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers.

 

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author