Archive | March 20, 2016

Manaconda,  Taryn Elliott & Cari Quinn

amazon UK buy link  Amazon com link

 

Genre:  Romance,

A rock star romance,a weakness for me…and the magic Taryn Elliot/Cari Quinn duo so I had to request it 😉 I loved the Oblivion books so looked forward to this.

Once more the writing style was easy to follow, flowed well, and full of little snarks and funny quips. Sometimes they’re so subtle I almost missed them, then they hit me and had me sniggering. I loved Kennedy and Hunter but….it just felt very brief, truncated almost as though I was waiting forever for something to happen and then – bam- it was over. Their first meeting covers around 30% of the book, which means all the rest kind of gets compressed especially as its quite a short read. (actually it’s not – I just checked and its 275 pages, but just feels much shorter? Maybe because I spent a lot of it feeling as though I was waiting for something to happen. )

Its not really got that typical Rock star read feel about it, and I was Really frustrated that one major plotline that was touted so much throughout the book seemed to have just got dropped, forgotten, passed off with a few words between the two characters. That just wasn’t good enough for me, I needed to know what was behind things, and why. Really irritating, but maybe a future read will tell more and I’ll understand. .

I did feel for Hunter over the whole Manaconda issue, that must get so annoying when people focus on that and not the music, is quite demeaning but of course in our shallow world so very, very real.

I wasn’t really convinced of the romance between the two, they seemed definitely in Lust with each other but more than that? Dunno, I wasn’t feeling it.

I did like reading the dual POV, that always works for me, I feel I know characters better that way. I would have liked to see more of the band, the members and the way they interact. Oblivion did that so well for me, and I missed it here. I did like the cameo references to that band 🙂

Its a story I enjoyed reading, a fun read, but I felt it was lacking in some indefinable way – the drama maybe? The connection between Hunter and Kennedy? Maybe just that I didn’t really feel I knew them well as people rather than rock star and PR person. If Hammered is to become a series ala Oblivion maybe I’ll get to know them better that way.

Stars: Three, a fun read but a one off only.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author