Realm of Darkness, C F Dunn

Realm of Darkness,  C F Dunn

Genre:  Romance, Sci-fi and Fantasy

I struggled with the first book in this series, it seemed like a story I’d love but couldn’t get into it. I picked it up a few months later and tried again and – Loved it. I got the next two immediately and now have just read book four – one more to go.
I don’t know whether to be pleased the story is wrapped up then or sad to be losing these fabulous characters. Inevitably there are comparisons with the Harkness All Souls trilogy – there’s a few surface similarities but the stories are very very different – yet I love them both 😉

Matthew and Emma are finally able to be together in the way they want, with a clean conscience. Ellen’s passing though has left some scars on some of the family, and Maggie still heavily resents Emma.
I love the mix of characters, how protective the family are of Matthew and he of them. Circumstances have ensured they rely closely on each other, with very few people knowing the truth about them. It means in a way they are very insular and  restricted in their lives, have to be careful of what they say, what they do and what they let people see about them, and new relationships are fraught with the potential for revealing everything to the wrong person. It means when one of them meets someone new all the family have to get involved, to decide how much can be told of the truth and what needs to remain hidden. Their surface family story works until people look closer and search below what they allow to be seen  and find the hidden truths, or hints of hidden secrets anyway.
With the passing of time though it gets harder to keep the truth away, and of course photographs and mobile phones now mean Matthew has to be incredibly careful of them revealing what he is

Some of the past secrets finally break free, we learn some of the mysteries that Emma was researching, but there’s also someone else rooting things out. Someone unexpected from Emma’s  past suddenly turns up and throws the family into disarray, just as they were learning to settle, to adapt and reform with Emma included within the family grouping.
Its a huge shock and means Emma looking to see what exactly she will do to keep the truth hidden, makes her search her conscience about what is right and brings forward some incredible dangers and tragedy.

I love this series, and it shows its important not to dismiss a book you think you’d like. Maybe its just not the right time for you to be reading it and some space will bring you into the story you wanted. I’m so glad I gave this a second chance.

Stars:five, fabulous book to join the keepers file with the others for rereading when all parts are out.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

