Didn’t I Warn You, Amber Bardan

Didn’t I Warn You,  Amber Bardan

Genre:  Romance

*This  is book one, with book two due later this year. I’m assuming its just the two parts. I do wish authors would tell readers how many parts make up the whole story. I’m so cautious now after having got caught in the Crossfire  Trilogy fiasco  where the day the final novel, book three, was released so was the news that it had been changed to a five book story. I returned book three, didn’t want to wait unspecified time and pay unspecified sums for the next two books! * And that’s my rant over 😉

So here we have a story that kept me guessing, it seems Haithem is hot, delicious and dangerous. Just what had he done, just what had poor Angelina got herself mixed up in? What was her history? Its clear there’s a lot about her we don’t know that affect the way she is now. who is Josh? And what does he mean to her? Its all questions, questions, questions and each time we get hints at the answer of one it feels like it paves the way for two more. Great fun, I like being kept guessing.

Loved Angelina, but I wasn’t totally convinced of her actions. The magazine interview – would anyone really make up that on the fly? And expect to be able to do it when she knows nothing except the person’s name? How did she expect to be able to contact him? She got lucky in a way, or maybe unlucky….She’s definitely a mixed up girl, haunted by past events, trying to find herself. Then she meets Haithem, he paves the way forward for a new direction.

Haithem, Mr deep, dark and delicious….he smoulders with sensuality, drips sex just from his voice. Angelina goes weak at the knees when he speaks, but no – I can’t bring myself to use phrases like Pantie wetting, Pantie melting, I hate them! Ladies wear knickers, not panties, that sounds so mealy mouthed and twee….( and men wear trousers not pants!!) and who really carries around spare knickers all the time? I hate this constant thing where every little sound or gesture makes ladies wet…I hope I don’t have to sit where they’ve been sitting 🙂 Anyway, damp knickers aside, he’s suspicious of Angelina turning up where he is, three times in one day, so gets his partner Karim to invite her to the yacht, where they plan to see what she’s up to.

They’re convinced she’s a spy, so she thinks now is not a good time to tell him about the planned magazine expose, light hearted though it might have been! They have a few words and…somehow she ends up on the yacht once they’re at sea. She must be the most accident person going. When they find her of course they don’t believe it was an accident, so they’re even more convinced she’s hiding something.

Its odd though how quickly Angelina and Haithem go in to some kind of flirting, semi sexual relationship, and yet both convinced the other is up to something and don’t trust them. I enjoyed the way the story slowly revealed what was going on, how their relationship changed, how we finally learned what had happened to Angelina and made her the person she is, what Haithem was doing and what had prompted it – and it certainly wasn’t what I thought!

Its a fun read and I’m looking forward to book two. Its got plenty of heat in, but its not sex at first sight, rather something that develops from their enforced closeness. Fits the novel perfectly and is just the right amount of sex v story balance

Stars: Four and a half, that beginning was just a bit too unlikely for me to go five.

 

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers for honest review

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest reviews for children's, middle grade, teen and adult books.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

