Walker, (Bad Boys of X-Ops 1), Rie Warren

Walker, (Bad Boys of X-Ops 1), Rie Warren 

Genre:  romance

I enjoyed reading some of Rie’s Carolina novels, and was looking forward to this. I’ve decided though that in general the Military/Black ops type reads aren’t for me. I get kind of lost in all the talk about guns, explosives, and machinations of missions and rescues. Some people adore them – that’s great of course, but for me they’re not really a genre that works. I’ve only read a few, and of course you need to be sure its not just one or two books that put you off a whole genre, but after getting lost – not in a good way – in this story I shall avoid this type of read in future.

 

Aside from my personal feelings about plot type Rie’s writing is spot on. Even though the plots were over my head much of the time I admire the tight way they’re connected. The way one part leads on to two more, that in turn circle round and bring in other people, places and sub plots. I always am able to feel what type of character Rie is portraying from the way she makes them speak, so Walker you just know is one very cocky, confident Alpha male person. He’s not one to sit back on the side-lines, say nothing when he disagrees with a course of action, and as an Alpha male ladies are automatically under his protection, whether they think they need it or not! Its just who he is, his nature to protect those he sees as weaker. He isn’t the Grunt type though, is confident enough to appreciate and use their skills when needed, and to let them share in the risks.

 

The sexual tension between him and Jade simmers intensely right from the start, and you know when they get together its going to be incredibly intense. Those parts Rie writes so well, no squirmy “damp panties”, mealy mouthed, twee alluding to sex, the stuff that makes me roll my eyes, but a full on, incredibly sensual and explicit tension that jumps off the page it’s so hot.

I did feel at times the sex took over the story, whether that’s just because this type of plot seems not to work for me or whether it really does dominate I’m not sure.

Stars: Three, great characters but the story didn’t really work for me.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest reviews for children's, middle grade, teen and adult books.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

