Wicked Heart, Leisa Rayven

Genre:  Romance,

Well – Wow– just wow…what a read! When I first read Bad Romeo I enjoyed it but its only half a story, and it wasn’t til I read Broken Juliet that it all came together for me and I loved it, and I added to my review of BR and upped the rating.

This time all the story is in one book – hurrah. For me that’s the best way to read a book, all the story in one, unless its meant as a series as many fantasy reads are.
When a romance is split into two or three ( or more!) parts as seems to be a current trend it spoils the story for me. I feel yanked out, cut off from the story and characters before I’m ready, and without reading earlier parts again I never quite pick up the threads properly. So I was ecstatic to get this, a whole story in one complete read.
I wish romance reads would go back to this, or at least release parts two and three at the same time as the first, so I can read them all at once.

Elissa is Ethan’s sister, and we met her in the previous reads but its not til this book I felt I really knew her properly. .
Its a story packed full of emotion, and where so many stick to a kind of format: A meets B and they get together, then about 75% they split for some reason and then its the HEA, this one was wonderfully different. This time I was gutted really early, when things go wrong for Liam and Elissa. I could feel how in love they were, could feel how strong their connection was even though they’d not known each other long so why? Why did..?? It brought me to the edge of tears and its only maybe at 30% of the book. That took me by surprise – and I loved it.
That’s not the end of the drama though, there’s lots more to come.  I couldn’t put the book down, wanted to hate Liam for what he did, for moving on,  but couldn’t. I wanted to hate Angel, his fiancée, but like Elissa I just couldn’t, she’s such a sweet, kind lady. How was Leisa going to get this one worked out, to explain why he did what he did, to make things right for Elissa would mean hurting Angel and did she deserve that? But if Liam stayed with her then Elissa would have the broken heart…oh a twisted triangle of the best kind.

Its such a great read, with wonderful characters, a storyline that felt so real, emotion that moved me to the edge of tears, really choked me up and took me away from the real world. Brought me into the one of Theatre, with all the trials and tribulations of putting on a great show, of wanting things so badly to work out for Liam and Elissa, but not wanting Angel hurt, of wondering how Liam could do what he did when he seemed such a genuine guy and to have real feelings for Elissa. I wanted to hate him and for a while I did, and then when he’s back and he’s the same great character I just couldn’t, so I needed something real, something believable to explain what happened and Leisa delivered that, in a book that’s stayed with me for days and I know I’ll reread, along with BR and BJ.

Stars: Five, a fabulous emotional, drama filled story with a terrific ending. One for keeping.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

