The Purest Hook, Scarlett Cole

 

Genre: Romance,

When I started reading this the writing style, along with the plotlines, reminded me a bit of Tracey Woolf and Helena Hunting. Authors whose books I really enjoy. Its a story that had – for me- great potential but didn’t quite live up to it. I hadn’t read earlier books, though each is a stand alone just containing characters from them as secondary people here.

Pixie and Dred, loved them both but I needed just that bit more from them, a little more real emotion and connection. There was a lot of should I – shouldn’t I on Pixie’s part, and the mystery of her background taunted constantly. Not knowing what had actually happened was more frustrating though than tantalising, and I’d have perhaps understood her reticence more if I’d have known what went on, what she was so scared of.

There were times when the plot just felt it was flogging a dead horse when it kept covering old ground, especially when not a lot was actually revealed.

A few parts of the plot felt really overdone, unreal, as though they were pushed in place to move the man plot along rather than developing naturally from events, and that’s always a problem for me. There are some things I can let go in the name of fiction, others not so much and the Petal angle was one I just couldn’t get with. Would she really have been left like that by Social Services ( or whatever the Canadian equivalent is?) I just couldn’t see it, and that was such a strong part of the story it was a let down for me, likewise Amanda’s seeming about turn towards the end.

Set against that though there was another part, someone from the close group acting in a way that seemed to be at odds with how he should, that built slowly throughout, where I felt somehow that Something Was Going to Happen – but when it did I didn’t expect That – never saw that happening and I love to be caught out like that. A good surprise.

Dred – his reaction when something was revealed that he didn’t know, ( its kind of hard to write what without giving a spoiler but when you read it you’ll know what I mean) didn’t feel it gelled with the understanding, kind, sympathetic and loving man I’d thought he was. I just couldn’t see the Dred I knew acting like that, and it felt wrong, especially given his stance on his brothers.

Set against all those things that didn’t feel right to me was a story with so much potential, and so much to like in it ( so much I did like despite my comments above!) I’d like to read the earlier books sometime, and see if its just this one read that has these problems for me. It feels like Scarlett is an author who writes in a style I’d enjoy, and maybe its just this book that’s got problems for me. Liking an authors stories doesn’t mean you’ll love everyone of them, and of course finding issues with one doesn’t mean you won’t love the others.

Stars: three, a good read but with some fairly problematic areas for me.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

