I Don’t Want to Talk About It (Choc Lit)

I Don’t Want to Talk About It (Choc Lit) What if the one person you wanted to talk to wouldn’t listen?  Jane Lovering

Genre:  Romance, women’s fiction

I’d read a couple of Jane’s books and loved them, so wanted to try this. Once again its an amazing, thought provoking read, a wonderful romance, but with a very real and emotional story too.

 

Light Bulb, oh how I understood the way Scarlett felt about him, not the psychological reasons she had, but the sheer joy of childhood imagery where the inanimate becomes real. I had two imaginary horses,( Golden Arrow and Silver Diamond!) and like Scarlett’s Light Bulb they went everywhere with me and behaved very badly. Gong to school  I pranced and bucked as they shied at scary things, and on the way home we always had a gallop over the common. I was quite a solitary child, lost in my own head most of the time, and I guess the other kids thought i was a bit odd. I was bullied too, and maybe this was my way of dealing in the same way Scarlett has transposed all her emotions and feelings into Light Bulb. Our garden too was full of jumps, hay nets, blankets saddles…Scarlett was a wonderful 8 year old, very insightful in the way she picked up on what adults thought was over her head.

Her uncle Alex, how I loved him, empathised with all he was dealing with, and the way he’d thrown everything into looking after Scarlett. His mum and her weird and wonderful clothes and slight battiness was a lovely lady, so well meaning but a bit of a steamroller approach.

Daisy, she was a lovely girl, very full of advice, and really did feel like a half of winter. Identical twins must share a closeness its hard for others to understand. I loved her take on things, the way she pushes at Winter to work things out, just adding her views occasionally.

Dan, I really wanted to hate him at first and then as we got to know him, and the mystery deepened I came to love him. There are, after all, two sides to every story. He really was an amazing man and so incredibly determined.

Schoolteacher Lucy features in the background quite a bit too and I wanted to dislike her and yet I couldn’t. As the story revealed more I was so glad I didn’t.

Last but not least was Winter, and my heart broke for her. I’d kind of guessed what was wrong, read a similar book a few months back so the clues added up but still….just heart-breaking, and along with Alex sister’s tragic death, made a book really full of sadness and yet the humour Jane injects lifts it so well, that it all fits to make the perfect summer read. I love the way Winter’s mind mentally puts words to Alex stammer – thus – “Milk? Sugar? I’ve got a huge d-d-”  For gods sake Winter stop it “delivery coming in a bit so I c-can’t …”

The book was full of such funny snippets of Winters mental musings, Scarlett’s very apt but not always timely interruptions, Alex mum’s weird clothes and descriptions of people’s ailments, they all just fitted the story so well and brought it alive. Reading about Alex mum’s comments on an elderly gentleman’s prostate issues I was  reminded me of an elderly acquaintance  who called here recently, and was sympathising with family illness.. “I knew something was wrong when I got frothy pee” My poor daughter struggled to keep a straight face!

 

The mix of drama and everyday issues make the story feel so real, and I wanted to give the characters a hug so many times. Its a book to adore, to savour and definitely one I’ll want to re-read. In fact though I’ve 4,000+ books on my kindle, get review books, free books from kindle list, have Kindle Unlimited I still buy books! So have just bought Jane’s “Please don’t stop the music” which looks to be equally good.

 

Stars: Five a fabulous summer read.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

