The Rule Book, Jennifer Blackwood

 

Genre:  Romance,

I liked the sound of this and it was a fun read, nothing too in-depth, but light and relaxing. The storyline is a bit “cutesy” and predictable but its lifted by the humour, not laugh out loud stuff, but one liners that gave me a quiet sniggers.

Lainey and her roommate Zoey were a great duo and I love Lainey’s full on approach to life, the way she stood up and fought – not knuckled under the pressure. She wasn’t mouthy, pushy or any of those types that irritate but she did value her own worth. Brogan was a bit…meh TBH, I liked him but he wasn’t the most solid character, a bit of a lightweight it seemed to me. For the owner of a top company he was easily fooled when things went wrong. and quick to cast blame rather than investigate. . I did find it hard to believe he had cookie ingredients in his home – well, the choc chips anyway given he didn’t bake….but that can slide.

What I did find hard to take, and it comes up again and again in stories is the “bravery in battling cancer” line. I’ve had cancer and got past it – bravery doesn’t come into it, you just do what you can to survive. Sadly many family members haven’t been so lucky, husband only a few weeks ago died after being told he’d got cancer 10 days before – he didn’t get time to “battle”. Mum did have treatment but still died, Nan didn’t get chance for treatment, two brother in laws and one sister in law also died. None of them “gave up”, they all wanted to live and this bravely battling cancer theme suggests that survival is all in the battle – well its not, its just chance and good luck 😦 and I Hate Seeing This Line. Anyway, that’s my rant over…

If you’re looking for a fun read, a light story that will make you smile and feel good at the end this book is for you. Its not a heart stopping, drama filled read – I love those but sometimes I’m in the mood for something simple and easy, that doesn’t need too much thinking over what happens. this is perfect for that time though not one I’d reread.

 

Stars: Four, a fun. light read.

ARC supplied by publishers and Netgalley

Tags: , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

