Reliquary, Sarah Fine

Reliquary,  Sarah Fine

Reliquary (Reliquary Series Book 1) by [Fine, Sarah]

Genre:  Romance,Sci-fi and Fantasy

Well, this was a treat – a book about magic, different sorts and people that can hold it, use it, sense it and those that become addicted to it all in a world where most people have no idea it even exists.

Mattie is a great girl, strong and caring, and when her fiancé Ben is abducted she feels not enough is being done to find him so takes her own tracks. She’s shocked to  find he’s ensconced in the world of magic, something he’s kept hidden from her and at first she’s convinced it’s all some kind of trick.
She learns things about him that shock her, and  discovers too that she has a rare talent for carrying magic in her body, enabling it to be transferred to somewhere else.That makes her very valuable to certain people.

In her search for Ben she comes across his estranged brother Asa, who at first seems to live up to his reputation as a surly, aggressive criminal, but along the journey we see another side to him, and I really liked him. Out of him and Ben I’m solidly on team Asa!
The search takes the two through a dangerous path, travelling across the world,  meeting with violent leaders within the money and power driven world of magic, who’ll stop at nothing to get their hands on what they want. Mattie and Asa are walking a thin line and risking their lives, not just once but time and time again to rescue Ben. Despite his deception Mattie is still determined to rescue him.

Its not a book with a cliff-hanger ending, but stops in a natural break but still, I want more, I’ve become a real fan of Asa and the way he and Mattie have such chemistry – for me he’s a far better person and fit for Mattie than Ben.
I love the magic world created here, its feels fresh and unusual, and full of promise for a terrific series. On to book two soon I hope!!

Stars: Five, a great start to a new series.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

