Didn’t You Promise, Amber Bardan

Didn’t You Promise,  Amber Bardan

click image for amazon link

Genre:  Romance,

 

I had some issues with the start of book one, Didn’t I warn you, but once past them I was quickly drawn into the story, and like Angelina I fell in love with Haithem. Once the full story came out I understood so much more of his actions, though didn’t necessarily agree with all of them.

Book two is a bit like that, I understood his actions but like Angelina I felt he was not treating her as an equal, that his plans were still leaving her out too much. When there’s the outside pressures he already faces can a relationship work when he’s determined to still keep secrets, even while telling her he won’t any more?

Its a hot and steamy read, the big reveal at the end of book one about his invention doesn’t stop the dangers. He needs to get it public and widespread before those who hate the way it’ll hit their market and profits destroy him and it…and he knows they won’t stop at anything, and that means Angelina is in real danger still. She wants to be with him, support him, share his life, but he’s worried, terrified, for her safety – they try a kind of compromise for a while, but old habits die hard and Haithem recalls what happened with his family only too well. He won’t let that happen to Angelina even if it means losing her 😦

 

I so felt for her, and understood her frustration when he promised to talk to her, treat her as a partner and then still did things without telling her, his protective instincts just couldn’t switch off. She knows that’s a long time habit and not going to go quickly, but even while he’s promising her no more secrets he’s still keeping things from her. She understand why, I understand why and yet can a relationship continue when faced with that on top of all the other pressures?

I loved this book – but…there were times when I felt things were being stretched out a bit, padded to fill the pages 😦 and I really don’t like that. Some of the dangers were “sort of” explained, but more inferred and I wasn’t always clear just what threats Haithem was worried about, much of it seemed to be amorphous threats from unspecified sources…I’d really have liked a bit more definition so I could see exactly why he was worried, and that the moves he’s put in place – plans a,b,c and d would actually work.

Then towards the end Angelina seems to go off on a strange tangent, blaming him for things even while she understands why he did it. Part of it I felt for her, it was tough, she had gone through such a lot, but part of it just seemed like she wanted to punish him but wouldn’t be honest with herself about that, so came up with some strange “justifications” for her behaviour.

If you keep a guard dog you can’t expect it not to do its job, can’t expect it to sit happily while strangers pet it – in the same way Haithem was a strong, secretive man, his experiences had made him that way and that’s the man she loved, I could go along with the compromises she wanted, but sometimes what she wanted would not be possible given the person he was, that it was asking for him to change his nature much as the guard dog scene.

Stars: Four, another cracking read even if parts didn’t quite sit well with me.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

