Wicked Ride, Wicked Horse, Book 4, Sawyer Bennett

Wicked Ride, Wicked Horse, Book 4,  Sawyer Bennett

click image for amazon link

Genre:  Romance, erotica

I loved the first two in this series, liked book three but wasn’t in love with it, and this one? Well, like almost all of her stories have been for me ( there was one that I really didn’t enjoy – that’s all ) it was a good read but it didn’t have that must-keep-reading edge that books one and two had.

I liked Logan and Aurelie ok but didn’t love them. Mainly because of her story. TBH it just didn’t work for me, didn’t feel real and I need to feel that all the circumstances, all the plots and characters could be real. Her background too, I’m not entirely convinced Logan would have been “Oh that’s OK. Its just how you were brought up….” When she was a kid then as kids do you tend to do what parents want, but she continued as an adult, and its only now she wants to change.
Thinking of her story from the other side I found I couldn’t really empathise with her. She was a nice enough girl but still her history – the bit which was her choice, not early days when she didn’t have any say in what happened, I just couldn’t get past that. She didn’t seem to have any conscience over it, never worried about the others concerned,  just treated it factually and was only concerned for herself and family.
Though she seemed a pleasant person otherwise this was such a huge issue for me I found it coloured what I wanted to happen for her. I was surprised that Logan was so accepting too, I wonder if he or someone he knew had been on the other side whether he would have still felt that way.

It meant that as I didn’t really connect with them properly. I couldn’t drum up the emotion I need to enjoy a story and want things to work out – I was a bit indifferent. TBH I was more concerned for Bridger ( oh how I want his story! ) and how things would look for him.

It became a decent story, with some hot sex, but that’s all, it lacked making me really feel for Logan and Aurelie, and the sex became just that, sex, not a result of real passion, not emotionally torrid, just mundane but steamy scenes. I need the connection between the act and the characters, need to feel the story is real for sex to become erotic for me.
Bridger, man of few words, man of mystery and Sawyer tantalises a few more drips of his storey here….sneaky. I think there’s a whole faction of SB fans who like me Really want to read his story 🙂 Soon, I hope.

Stars: Three, hot and sensual but I felt the plots were lacking so wasn’t a great SB read for me, just an OK one.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

