Piper Dreams, (The Dream Trilogy 3), Amélie S. Duncan

Piper Dreams, (The Dream Trilogy 3), Amélie S. Duncan 

Genre: Romance,

I had to go back to book two and just refresh myself on the ending, then dove straight into this.
I love Amélie’s writing, the way she creates such realistic characters. There are times when because of the situation this could become horribly Mawkish, you know- when good characters become Saints, when its all just so sweet, sweet, sweet that it leaves a sour taste, but Amelie manages to give us pathos, heart-breaking plots and losses without descending that far. She keeps the balance with gentle humour, action, and sometimes just a welcome dose of plain reality.

Seren is sweet, a really lovely girl, and I so felt for her. She’s the main person that could make the book descend into sickliness, who could become sanctified, but she’s also got that core of down to earth strength, the way of putting people in the right place, and saying things that keep a great balance. She’s married to Cole now, and he’s around for this book, finished with being away at work, out  of contact, but he’s still got that head-in-sand ostrich approach.
I didn’t like him before, didn’t like that he left things to Brody while he returned to work, but finally we get an explanation of his mental thoughts around that, and see that there were also practical reasons for his actions. I’ve warmed to him now, but I can’t love him, still feel he copped out a bit. Even now he’s determined to see his way, and what he wants, won’t let any thoughts of Seren dying come out. That makes it tough for her, its not been looking good, she’s on experimental treatments, being sick, losing weight and a shadow of the person we first met, even though she was sick then.
Its tough on all of them– I feel for him in a way, but then I feel more for Seren, she’s already facing something no-one that young should have to. She’s having to put on a front for Cole it seems to me, having to be brave so as not to upset him, when really maybe she’d rather cry and just want a hug and an acknowledgment that life really is a b itch sometimes, that its unfair, not right etc. etc. Being brave all the time when you’re fearful inside isn’t easy. Been there, done that and I so want to just give her a hug. I was 36 when told I had little chance of survival, and I was angry, angry at life and everything – Seren is totally opposite to how I felt and I wish I could have had her calmness and outlook. (You try kicking out at a wall when you’ve only one leg – doesn’t work!) Luckily I beat the odds, my experimental treatment didn’t save my leg, but did help me survive and 21 years later I’m still here 🙂

Then there’s Piper and Brody, the two main people. Their romance has struggled, for them the path of true love really isn’t smooth. Now just as they seem to be coming through yet another crisis, Piper finds she’s pregnant. With Seren being ill and the message from the clinic coming when she was travelling to see her, she hasn’t had time to think, time to take it in. Given Brody’s past he won’t be happy if she doesn’t want to keep the baby, but she’s worked so hard to get where she is in her career, can she give it all up now? Another huge hurdle for the pair.
Brody, oh what a man he is, so loving, so protective of Cole and Seren, and now he’s let Piper into that circle. It took time, took Seren pushing for him to allow himself a chance at love, a chance at life. For ages his duty to Cole, his brother in all but name, the man he felt he owed so much to, made him feel he couldn’t be with Piper, that loving her would be letting Cole and Seren down. For a long while Cole seemed to have that thought too, and it took Seren to make the pair see that love could expand, its not finite and that Piper belonged to all of them.

There are other great characters, Luna and Miles play a larger role in this book, Piper’s mum is here, and of course the rest of the Biker Babes entourage. Doc and Fiona are always a steadying force, and Zack – lovely man, but Riley…. What a b itch she is, a really difficult person to get along with. She sees Piper as an interloper to the group, makes it clear she resents her, that she needs to go, lets her know she thinks she’s bad for the Seren/Cole/Brody trio and that she thinks Piper will push Seren out.
I really like people such as her in a story, they act as an antidote to cute, she’s a perfect balance for Seren, the Chaos theory equivalent !! Seren is the love on the scales and Riley balances them with her hate. She does need putting into place at times even though we can see where much of her fear comes from.

Its a perfect end to the story, not all sweetness and light but showing the hurts, the pain, the reality of living with a terminal illness. Some books make it all so perfect, so sanitised and its not, life is dark and dirty at times, cruel and unfair and Amelie brings some of that into this novel. That makes it real for me, I care about the characters – yes, even Riley! I want good things for them, want them to find happiness, but there are times when it seems as though that’s just not going to be possible.
Piper and Brody have come such a long way – can they really get their happy ending?

Stars: Five, a tear-jerking but thoroughly satisfying ending.

ARC supplied by author

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

