Same Page, Bookish Friends to Lovers Series: Book 1, G.L. Tomas and The Lemon Spell, Sachin Kumar

Same Page, Bookish Friends to Lovers Series: Book 1,  G.L. Tomas

click image for amazon link

Genre:  Romance,

So, I knew from the description there was cheating here – I don’t like that, but usually in novels its done in such a way that I’ve some sympathy, its kind of wrong but understandable but here? Ugh! No. It was “I know you’ve got a girlfriend but…” – “ I know we shouldn’t be doing this..”- “ its so wrong” – as they’re ripping each others clothes off. ( roll eyes!)

I couldn’t get the whole Timothy/long distance romance, didn’t see how two people in love could do this – he’s 26 and content with seeing his girlfriend of four years just 3-4 times a year? It wasn’t as if it was just for a fixed period either..nether seemed to want to relocate. He talks about cheating on her   – he mentions its not something he “does often”, as if that’s OK.
Nope, I just couldn’t like him or Naima, they felt very surface based shallow individuals to me.

Didn’t like the vibe of the book either – I can see its got lots of readers who love it, I’m pleased for them but for me it felt wrong, false, overcomplex. It had too much of everything as if the writers had tried to condense all the things readers love into one book that’s got a bit of every possible ingredient. Sometimes less is more – needed here in my view 😉
I really wanted a translation too for so much of the text. I’m never a fan of written dialect, it just sounds wrong – think of all those Scots Dinna, Doona etc, they sound awful don’t they? Make the characters a certain race or type but keep the text simple, it only complicates and spoils it for many readers such as myself. It spoiled the flow of dialogue, just seemed so artificial. If the characters were strong and a certasin type I can assume the dialect for them in my head, don’t need it spelled out. Every page seemed filled will this weird mish mash of dialect, hipster speak, all-inclusive openess. I didn’t really get the sense of any of the characters, didn’t feel I knew them and apart from the bookshop jobs they had and this strange romance I didn’t see any solid plots.
It was riddled with acronyms too which I has to keep looking up – all that spoiled things for me and its a fail….but it ends on a cliffy and the sequel is on KU, so if you want to take a punt and have KU at least you’ll be able to read all the story.

Stars: Two, a hit for many readers and I’m really pleased for them but a fail for me. We all want different things from reading. This shows that very well.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

The Lemon Spell,  Sachin Kumar

click image for amazon link

I haven’t reviewed this one, its a novella and they rarely work for me but I know many readers like shorter books, perfect for when time is limited. Its also currently on KU.

When Jai drags Rebecca and their three-year-old son to a remote Wisconsin town on a family vacation, Rebecca’s frustration grows—her husband’s irresponsible behavior has been driving her crazy lately!

Then the unthinkable happens: Jai and their toddler die in a freak accident during the trip. Rebecca, descending into a painful spiral of sadness, confusion, and longing, visits a fortuneteller in a desperate struggle to envision a future without her family. There, Rebecca is surprised to hear that there are some witches in Jai’s native India who can supposedly communicate with spirits.

A faint hope to contact her husband’s spirit takes her to a mystic city in India. Her emotional journey reveals a fantastical world of magic, witches, and spirits. Past lives and long forgotten desires intersect with the hopes and dreams of the living. As Rebecca attempts to find a powerful witch, Jai is lingering in the nearby spirit world searching for his lost son. Can a couple’s love for each other and their son bridge the gap between the two worlds? Is there indeed a witch somewhere who can help?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

