Cream of the Crop, Alice Clayton

Cream of the Crop,  Alice Clayton

click image for amazon link

Genre: Romance.

My first Alice Clayton was the wonderful Wallbanger – followed by the Redhead trilogy. Actually I’ve recently finished a reread of that, good books I love to enjoy a second time or more…so I was really looking forward to this, even though I hadn’t read the first book. Each is a standalone book, so that shouldn’t matter.

I love the way Alice’s heroines are such strong, confident women, no simpering milksops here, but Natalie grated on my to begin. She came across as almost overconfident, a bit pushy, she’s a size 18 – fine, so are lots of us- but she’s almost aggressively defensive  about it.There’s an explanation later that makes sense, but she was annoying me with her constant references to it, and the way she almost treated men as sex objects yet got annoyed when they looked at her in the same way. Dual standards much Natalie?
No one wants to be defined by a single part of them but she’s doing it to herself it seemed with her constant focus on her size and the Big is Beautiful mind-set she had.  I found it a bit hard to like her. That’s really important to me, I need to be rooting for my leads, to want them to get whatever it was they desired.
She grew on me by a third of the way in thankfully, and her interaction with Oscar to begin were brilliant. Who hasn’t been reduced to a shambling wreck, incapable of intelligent conversation by someone we like? The other characters, Oscar, Roxie – her friend – and her husband Leo were also great characters and played a solid part. I adored Leo’s daughter Polly, and then of course who couldn’t love Chad the Mayor and Logan, his husband.

There was so much to like here, great characters, hot, erotic, steamy sex and a tentative romance, a realistic plot around how Natalie spent so much time in Bailey’s Falls, that I ought to have been glued to the page. Sadly I wasn’t though, found myself putting it aside and picking up something else a couple of times.
I couldn’t have done that with Wallbanger, or the Redhead trio, yet didn’t get engaged with this read in the same way. Not sure why? I think it was the Natalie /Oscar romance, it was hot sex, and lots of it, but there was no real conflict or issues with them once they got together – I had hopes of Missy intervening but…shame as that kind of thing is right up my street.
Still, it was a good read, just for me not a great one and not one I’d reread.

Stars: Four, a good read but a one off for me.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

One response to “Cream of the Crop, Alice Clayton”

  1. JC Harroway says :

    Your review has inspired me to pick up Wallbanger….it’s on my tbr list.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest reviews for children's, middle grade, teen and adult books.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

