I Found You, Lisa Jewell

I Found You,  Lisa Jewell

click image for amazon link

Genre:  General Fiction (Adult)

My first book by Lisa Jewell, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. And I got hooked into the story very quickly – had to keep reading til the early hours ( yawn…) just to see what would happen and how it would all pull together.

I loved Alice, a bit scatty, probably ones of those mums labelled “irresponsible” by others, yet she loves her family and has such a big heart. That’s what led her into the predicament she finds herself, she just can’t leave the poor guy sitting on the beach all night so invites him home, lets him stay in her studio room that she rents out, but which is currently vacant. Her youngest daughter names him Frank as she feels its a good name for him.
Frank has lost his memeory, he’s cinfused, diesn;t jknow where he is, who he is, how he got there…I so felt for him and wanted to know what had happened to get him into this state.
The we meet Lily, 21, Ukrainian new bride of Carl.He’s older – 40 – they’ve had a very whirlwind relationship, and been in UK only 10 days after marrying quickly in Kiev.  She’s deeply in love and very self contained,and when Carl doesn’t come home from work she’s determined to find him even if the police seem to think he’s off with someone else. She’s such a motivated lady and she needs to be strong. I found her difficult to like, she’s such a hidden person and at first when i read it I expected her to be one of those simpering child bride types. She’s not though, she’s independent, and comes across as abrupt at times. That may be the language divide, she’s fluent in English but doesn’t always understand mannerisms and phrases and her response makes her seem aloof.

Those are the main characters in the “now” part of the story, but it also slips back twenty years to when a family where holidaying in the area, where we meet Gray, Kirsty and Mark. Teenagers, and yet from very different backgrounds with a story that develops from their first meeting on the beach.

I enjoyed the switch from past and all that’s happening there, to the current seeing the story from Lily, Alice and Franks viewpoint. I was racing to get to the next chapter of whatever was current – so when I’m with Gray, Kirsty and Mark I wanted to see what was happening next as Lisa stops each section right on a high, at the moment when things are happening. But I’d then get sucked in to what was happening to Alice, Frank and Lily and wondering how all these characters connected. Its a novel that begins with what feels like three very different stories that slower begin to make their way to each other.
I’d guessed a bit but not for a very long while, and though there were a few implausible parts ( I’ve broken bones, even allowing for adrenalin I don’t think all that was possible) I was hooked into reading – as I said – far too late which is why I’m so tired this morning….

Stars: Five,a great read though now I know the story its not a re-reader for me.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

