The Sapphire Affair, A Jewel Novel Book 1, Lauren Blakely

The Sapphire Affair, A Jewel Novel Book 1,  Lauren Blakely

The Sapphire Affair (A Jewel Novel Book 1) by [Blakely, Lauren]

click image for amazon link

Genre:  Romance,

I loved Lauren’s Seductive Nights trilogy, full of sexy romance and heart stopping drama so I was keen to read this, even though *sigh* I’ve already been turned down for book two which I’d requested before I got this one…..

I feel a little underwhelmed though, I enjoyed the story, but just didn’t love it, it lacked that magic spark that makes a five star read. I found it really slow to start, and given that I was approved for book one but refused book two ( boo, hiss) it was really hard continuing with the story. It does get better though by 30%.

Both Jake and Steph didn’t feel “real” to me for a very long time, I didn’t feel I could know them and so that affected the way I cared about them. I could feel the lust between them, but that was purely a physical reaction, and even that didn’t have the can’t-keep-hands-off-each-other feel that usually goes with this kind of story and is so well done in Lauren’s other stories. Maybe that’ll change in book two. I did get to feel more for them as the story went on.

I was a bit confused by the storyline too at times, especially once they join up – they never discuss who is getting what if they are successful, or what they are planning to do with the haul, and I’d have thought that’s one of the first things they’d want to agree on. Maybe it was there, but if so it was very brief and I missed it? Just seems odd to me to have such a huge question unanswered.
Then there’s stepdad Eli, a rat fink ex and yet he was with her mum for a long while, a great dad to her, and I wasn’t sure where and why he changed? There’s one tiny mention of him cheating on her mum, but after they split its as if he was doing it all the while and I needed to know which version was the real one.
Her mum describes “giving” him the money to start his business, not that it was a loan, and though he’d supposedly embezzled the company he seems to have been a well respected, and very successful person in all the years he was there. I’m wondering why he didn’t just use the money he had honestly as part owner of a very successful company? Maybe I’ve just misread/misunderstood that section but it left me with questions that affected how I saw the plot playing out.

Of course there’s a cliff hanger ending of sorts, but given there’s book two to come I’m pretty sure that will get speedily resolved 😉
As always I do wish the next book was out now or that the tale was all in one book – I just lose the impetus of the story when waiting for months, and when I’m sort of not “in love” with the story sometimes I find it really hard to pick it up again.
Its a good read, well written as we expect from Lauren but somehow for me it just was a bit lacking.

Stars: Three and a half, an Ok goodish read but I’m hoping book two picks up the pace and answers my questions.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

