Summer of Irreverence, The Rock Star, Cathrine Goldstein

Summer of Irreverence, The Rock Star,  Cathrine Goldstein

Summer of Irreverence: The Rock Star (The New York Artists Series) by [Goldstein, Cathrine]

Genre:  Romance,

I’m a sucker for the rock star romance trope so requested this. It was a light and fun read but….

I missed the intensity I expect in this trope, the jealousy, the groupies, the drugsnsexnrocknroll media sh it storm that almost always finds its way into this trope, and that make it such a great read for me.
I’ve just finished rereading the wonderful Paige Toon duology Johnny be good/baby be mine and that’s exactly what I look for in this kind of story. Passion, drama, heartbreak – all that stuff.
Here though everyone was just so nice,so kind and helpful.Throw in that the plot just didn’t really cut it for me,  Summer pretending to be a model to attract Malcolm just felt too forced, Malcolm as a top of the tree rock star just donned a hat and glasses to go out unhindered, him spotting Summer in a crowd of thousands that first night, even if she was with someone he knew and in the front row, it all was just too easy,too smooth, too simplistic.
Then also I didn’t see why she kept her career a secret, why she was so afraid to tell him. The stuff Malcolm is hiding behind – well, that was a tough one, and I understood well why he had been quiet about it for so long, but it still was a bit small to be a major drama, though it could have been if more emphasis had been put on it. Winston – he is a star and I loved him 😉 .

They’re just two such sweet, kind, thoughtful people that it all felt a little sickly for me. Its a good read, well written but I did need more friction and angst to rate it higher.
Thats just a personal thing though – we all want different types of stories, and this kind of read resonates and is perfect for many readers.

I can’t close without saying that Name is Awful. I hate twee names and Summer Wynters is horrible – it does provide a bit of extra text when they refer to it and her parents  but I really don’t think it was worth the nausea inducing feelings I got each time I read it 😉
I read another recently where the main lead was Autumn Rayne – no- as with Wynters, putting the Y in doesn’t make it OK.
I’ve never read the much heralded Black dagger brotherhood saga, though I love vampire romances, as I just can’t get past the cringe worthy names, Rhage, Zsadist, Vishous. Each time I think I’ll give them a try I think of those names and just can’t bring myself to read them!

Stars: Three, a bit too sweet for me but perfect for others.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

