Recipe for Love, Katie Fforde

Recipe for Love,  Katie Fforde

Recipe for Love by [Fforde, Katie]
Genre: Romance, women’s fiction
I discovered the wonderful world of Katie’s stories years ago, in the pre kindle days…they’re perfect reads for when I just want an easy and light escape from reality with a perfect HEA. You’d think that writing a certain style like this would mean the stories would get “samey” after a while, but each one I’ve read of Katie’s has been fresh and original.

So, this time we’re in the world of “reality” TV. Something I’d never watch – in fact I don’t watch TV at all now, haven’t for maybe 5-6 years, give me a book any day, Never the less I love reading about this type of event, whether its cook offs, DIY disasters or some kind of survivor type games…makes for awful TV IMO but fabulous stories!

Zoe wants to open her dream shop, a very individual deli, with good, properly sourced foods and a range of ready to prepare and ready meals made from those same ingredients.
Money though – that’s always a bar and she’s tried for this TV show with its financial prize that would make her dream come true. She’s astonished to get through, but decides to do her best and hopefully enjoy the experience.

Being the ever helpful person she is she helps a surly driver while she’s waiting to be let in to the place the contest is being held. This guy has got himself stuck in a ditch and it takes plenty of mud and sweat before they get his car out. He goes off and …later when everyone is there she learns he’s one of the judges.
Somehow they keep getting thrown in each others orbit and of course romance blooms. they have to be circumspect though, and he tells her outright it means he needs to be even harder on her than on the others.
Zoe’s also made friends with the owners of the ramshackle but gorgeous place they are staying. Fen and Rupert are doing it up with a view to opening as a B&B, and events venue. Somehow Zoe is always in the right place to help when disaster strikes, some would walk away but she’s a “helper” by nature ( I know that type – that’s me, can’t walk away when I can do something to help) and soon gets to be good friends with Rupert and a very pregnant Fen.

The other contestants are a fun mix, but poor Zoe gets lumbered with the beautiful, arrogant and shallow Cher as a house mate. Cher is determined that first place is to be hers, not because she wants the money, she doesn’t need it, but winning the show will be her stepping stone to fame she’s decided. She’s not above some dirty tricks to win, and sees her main completion and person she can disadvantage easiest is Zoe.
There really are people like that, horrible though it is, and I love them in a story! The other contestants are a fun mix, and each have their own quirks and personalities that crop up in the story.

I loved the descriptions of the food – not so much the foraging stuff…. but the rest, the cheeses, the home made pancetta, preserved fruits etc and of course what they made from those ingredients, that croquembouche(sp??) was so mouth-watering! I’d love to try making one of them – I’d be eting it all week though 🙂
The towering – literally – masterpiece was the cupcake wedding cake, when a wedding was taking place at the venue and the cake maker let the planner and bride down.
Once more Zoë stepped into the breach, in between trying to cook her own competition canapés. That cake sounded amazing!

In between helping Fen and Rupert, trying to get past Cher’s tricks, and keep her place in the competition the fledgling attraction and romance between her and Gideon paced forward swiftly. What was it though? A quick fling ? Or could there be more? Questions Zoe asks herself, would a man like Gideon really want more or should she just appreciate the moment and enjoy what they have now and not worry about where it may go.

Of course nothing goes as planned, and its such a fun read with drama, disasters, devious tricks and distractions that it makes for a great escape from reality for a few hours.
Its a fun light flirty type read rather than deep drama and introspections, and I really enjoyed reading about the characters and the quest for the winner.
Its a book I would read again when I’m in the mood for an easy escape, a read to relax with and let my brain shut off. there are times when we all need that and a good book is my way of doing it.

Stars: Five, a perfect escapist read.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

