Echoes of Angels, Keepers of Eternity Book 1, Devyn Quinn

Echoes of Angels, Keepers of Eternity Book 1,  Devyn Quinn

Echoes of Angels (Keepers of Eternity Book 1) by [Quinn, Devyn]

Genre:  Romance, sci-fi and fantasy.

I thought this sounded intriguing, something a bit different and having read the sample on amazon I was keen to read the book. Sadly though for me it just didn’t really make it. I wouldn’t class it as a romance, there’s some sex but that’s it, no real connection between Morgan and Julienne it.

Julienne seemed to gain her confidence very quickly for someone who’d returned home from such a dreadful situation, and I really thought that she was rude to Morgan. Yes he’s pretty obnoxious, but it would have been easier to be polite to her grandmother and just avoid him.
The scene where she was frankly just a voyeur seemed to have been added for titillation and didn’t add to the story.
In fact the whole story for me didn’t really go anywhere. Morgan’s non human status was dangled in front of the reader continuously, but we never get to know exactly what he is, and what’s really going on. He was frankly a horrible man, and I couldn’t believe Julienne’s actions when she knew how he was, saw first hand what he was like to Ashleigh….I was so disappointed in his character, he sounded so enigmatic and promising to begin. I didn’t feel any real heat or connection between him and Julienne, and really missed that.

I just felt from a promising start it seemed to go no-where which was a shame because that start was so intriguing, held so much promise. Its that potential that has me rating this a two and a half and not a two.
I did read right through to see if somewhere I would get sucked in to the story, but it was hard work.  I was really hoping these potential plot lines would develop but …nothing that really resonated with me, nothing seemed to actually happen and nothing that made sense, made me feel I must read book two.
There’s a kind of cliff-hanger at the end, something happens but I can’t believe its going to be left as it seems.
Still, looking at reviews it perfect as it is for many readers so its another example of that “not all books suit all readers” and what didn’t work for me could be the hook that you need to enjoy this.

Stars: two and a half, lots of potential but didn’t reach it for me. .

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

2 responses to “Echoes of Angels, Keepers of Eternity Book 1, Devyn Quinn”

  1. Devyn QUinn says :

    Sorry the book didn’t work for you. I do hope that you find an author who does.

    • jeanniezelos says :

      I hate getting books that don’t gel with me Devyn, and feel bad about writing low star reviews, you authors work so hard at writing, polishing and finally getting work out, it feels just wrong not to give all books high stars 😦 As I said though we all want different things and I know there are readers for whom this book is perfect. My two sons are avid Terry Pratchett, David Eddings etc readers and yet I can’t connect with those authors at all. I’ve tried hard – when they lived at home and had shelves full of books like those and I’d nothing new to read it would have been great if I’d shared their taste in fantasy.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

