When they come calling, Sarah Fleming Mountford, A Fool for You, Katee Robert

When They Come Calling (Anna's Nightmare Book 1) by [Mountford, Sarah Fleming]

This book is currently at just 99p (kindle) until Sunday, promotion ready for the sequel that’s to come soon. I don’t have any date info on that but for lovers of mystery/thrillers with a paranormal slant it’s a good read.

My review is here.

https://jeanniezelos.wordpress.com/2016/04/09/when-they-come-calling-sarah-fleming-mountford/

A Fool for You,  Katee Robert

A Fool For You (Foolproof Love) by [Robert, Katee]

Genre:  Romance,

I was looking forward to this, I’ve enjoyed a few of Katee’s novels, and the blurb for this sounded very angsty – and I love that, but it just didn’t work for me 😦

So what went wrong? Why didn’t it gel for me?
Well, the characters, they sounded terrific, full of potential and I was keen to meet them. When I did though I just didn’t find them convincing.
I liked Hope, she’d been through such a lot, but given how she felt about Daniel at the time would she really just have given up on him like that? She’s a pretty strong character, and I know time has passed and maybe she wasn’t so strong them but it didn’t feel right to me.
Then there’s Daniel, he behaved like a real jerk at the time, and again I found it hard to match that with the person he was presented as. He’s still really sulky and I found it difficult to like him, even given his reasons for doing what he did. He’s very self obsessed if he didn’t see what he did and was still doing to Hope.
I had issues with the pregnancy storyline – firstly the way they get hot and heavy against the wall….just didn’t feel right. They’ve both managed to stay out of contact for thirteen years so would they really have done that? I didn’t feel they would, and then the way they deal with the pregnancy after – well, I guess that’s another reason why this one didn’t work for me, neither the characters or the way the plot played out felt right to me.
Others love it – I’m pleased for them but for me this was a fail.

Its another example of how we all differ in reading tastes, with many readers adoring these characters and the story.
Its also why no author is an auto buy for me, loving some of their books doesn’t mean I’ll love them all, even though I do know that I enjoy their writing style.

Stars: Two, a book that’s good, great even for many readers but just didn’t work for me.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

