We Were On a Break, Lindsey Kelk,

We Were On a Break, Lindsey Kelk,

Genre:  women’s fiction, General fiction.

My first read by Lindsey, although she’s written several books. Clearly her style is one that many readers love, but for me though I enjoyed this book its a one off read.

I just felt as though there was just so much dancing round the subject, that they were on, then off, then wondering were they on, were they off, and neither seemed to really know.
To be honest I felt like I didn’t really understand Adam’s reasons for not proposing in the first place, and though there were lines that had me laughing, for much of the time it just seemed waffle, that they were making a mountain out of a molehill.

Its a great view of how simple things can get misconstrued, how innocent meetings look very different to others, and how sometimes we kid ourselves about what we want, and justify things when really we know we are in the wrong.
I did like the story, did like the look at how we work at relationships and how easily things can go wrong.

It wasn’t just their romance though, there was the question of Erin’s work, she’s a vet working in her dad’s practice and he wants to hand it over to her and retire. The problem is he doesn’t want to let go of running it, making the decisions, and won’t let Erin make the changes she wants.
I think that’s a very common scenario with family businesses, where there’s not the same respect for a family member that an employee has. Its not intentional awkwardness, but more just not seeing things from the other the persons viewpoint.

Then there’s Adam’s family, a brother who invented and marketed a best selling app, and now has become frankly a real jerk, very I-am-the-man to his brother, his parents, even his wife too at times.
She’s one of Erin’s best friends, but since marrying Chris and having a baby she’s become very different.
Adam and Chris parents are…strange, in a way too, his mum seems to be on a journey to find her inner self kind of trip, and dad is just a keep quiet, eat the wheat free, meat free, sugar free, fat free, taste free meals and sneak out to the café for a bacon buttie.
They’re’ a fun bunch and all have a different input into the Adam/Liv saga.

So it made me laugh at times, passed away a couple of hours and was an easy read, but for me not a great one, not one I’d reread.

Stars: Three, a good read, just not a great one for me.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

