Down Shift, K. Bromberg

Down Shift,  K. Bromberg

Down Shift (Driven) by [Bromberg, K.]

Genre:  Romance

Like hundreds of thousands – or more..of readers I loved Colton and Rilee’s story, and I’ve reread it a couple of times now so I was eager to read this one.
I’ve only read the first three, not any of the succeeding novels…time and money never seem to coincide 😉

Zander, that poor, silent little kid has grown up now. Followed in Colton’s footsteps and is a top racing driver. Then just as everything seems golden for him, just when he’s enjoying his career and having a fabulous life something from his past comes barrelling up and derails him.
Colton, tough love, he’s so perfect still. He hates having to be tough with Zander, but he and Rylee have been trying to wait, to let him deal, to see if he’ll ask for the help he so desperately needs but he doesn’t, just spirals down into despair until he risks losing everything he’s worked for.
They don’t know what the problem is, don’t know what’s wrong, why he’s so angry. After a huge blow-up, Zander leaves, he knows that he has to deal with his issues alone, away from his family, find his way through himself.

Getty, she’s another soul running away, for very different reasons to Zander, he’s running from his past, but for her the issues are very current, and bring real danger.
She thinks she’s alone in the beach house she’s staying at, belonging to a friend, but then finds that the friends other half has let Zander stay there too….

I loved both of these characters and the story as it unfolded but….the start felt a little slow, I wasn’t really pulled right in to the story. Its pretty complex and I don’t know how else it could have been done, and of course for many readers this will be perfect but I didn’t find it hard going for the first 20-25%. Maybe it was just over expectation after the fabulous Colton/Rylee reads.
Once I got “into” the story it became un-put-down-able! I was there with them, feeling happy when they got together, anguished when it went wrong, devastated at what Zander discovered, terrified when Getty’s past comes back to bring more danger to her, take away her growing, fragile independence. She was so so brave, her story is far too common, and I was so pleased she found her courage and tried to move forward, do what was right for her.
I so much didn’t want her to lose all that progress. I don’t think she’d have been able to do it a second time.

I loved the way they really didn’t get on at first, the way he saw her as a rich, trust fund girl, the way she resented him coming to break her fragile peace, wanted the gorgeous playboy type to go away. Some of that snarky dialogue felt very genuine, and the emotions – oh they were there in spades.

When things go wrong and the drama really gets deep I was so loving the story. I like the dark bits, the emotive times, in my reads to play out slowly, I hate those where its all off on page 264 and on again and HEA by 268…Not so here, these characters really had to work for their HEA and both Zander and Getty really grew, really found their place.

Stars: Four and a half, that slow start dropped it from a five but its still a fabulous addition to the series. Maybe, maybe time and cash will get together and I’ll read the others.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest reviews for children's, middle grade, teen and adult books.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

