Blow, A Virtuous Paradox Novel, Heidi McLaughlin

Blow, A Virtuous Paradox Novel,  Heidi McLaughlin

Blow: A Virtuous Paradox Novel by [McLaughlin, Heidi]

Genre:  Romance,

I loved the sound of this but.. it was a fail 😦 for me anyway, I know others will and do love it. That’s life.

I  was intrigued by the forbidden romance part and of course I love the rock band genre but…Bodhi is in a band with two others, he doesn’t sing, he doesn’t play an instrument – so what does he do? Did I miss something?

I wasn’t convinced by his incredibly speedy rehab. One moment he’s a total addict, and yet just a few days later he’s rational, well and determined not to relapse. From what I’ve read it just doesn’t happen this way and it just didn’t feel right to me.
He does have one big issue with a paranoiac episode but that seems to be it….I expected more struggle.

Then there’s Kim, daughter of the owner and works there as some kind of ad hoc therapist/companion/girl Friday. I’m not really sure what her role is but to be honest the way she is with Bodhi is just wrong, wrong, wrong. She knows what she’s doing is very bad for his recovery, she knows its wrong to encourage him to lie ( say he’s sick so he can go to medic room and she can stay with him, knows she shouldn’t let him get involved, that its bad for him, but does she seem to care? Nope, she just wants what he’s offering and tells herself its OK.
She knows he’s an addict and addicts lie, and yet when the question of condoms come up its ok because he says he’s clean!! Yes, the guy who was doped up and trying to have sex with another addict just days before…
That bit made me really angry, as did his belief in her word she was on the pill. In those circumstances its just so wrong to let characters do this, especially when it didn’t really affect the story. Condom use should have been there, even in fiction its irresponsible to send this message that you can take someone’s word when you’ve only known them a few days, and one is an addict, likely to have had sex frequently, and with different people because of his profession.
Its fiction but I believe that authors should still put safety first for their characters, remind readers that this kind of behaviour could lead to pregnancy at the least and STD’s that can be life threatening at worst.

He’s only been there a week or so when they first get together, and I expected him still to be suffering withdrawals, for their romance to progress slowly, from an attraction to tentative looks and touches etc but it doesn’t, within days he’s ( his words, Yak!!) “finger banging” her out in the woods…Yes she really takes her work and his recovery seriously doesn’t she?

I wasn’t convinced at the romance between the two of them, didn’t even really feel like lust and not love, more like infatuation on her part and convenience on his. Certainly in the early stages it was that way.
I just didn’t like or respect either of them, and I think that’s why this was such a fail for me. If I’d felt more between them, liked them as people more maybe I could get past the other issues, but I didn’t and it all felt like a rehab-lite type story.
Addicts just don’t recover that easily and quickly, especially when their being led down roads that aren’t good for them, by someone who really should know better.

Stars: two, sorry, a fail for me.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

