Dark Protector, Katie Reus

Dark Protector, Katie Reus

Dark Protector (A Werewolf Romance) (Moon Shifter Series Book 6) by [Reus, Katie]

Genre:   Romance, New Adult

I’ve enjoyed a few of Katie’s novels but not read any of the Moon shifter ones.
The blurb says each are stand alone and its not necessary to have read earlier ones and after reading this I’d agree, but as with all series you will understand the characters better if you’ve read previous books.
There were individual characteristics and subtle nuances here that I didn’t always understand, but clearly were things that had happened or were affected by events from other books. If I’d read those I might have grasped things sooner but it was still easy to follow the story and people in it.
Its quite a short read, 2682 kindle locations though Goodreads has it down as 275 eBook pages? I’d have put it closer to 150-170.

I loved Natalia, she’s a strong lady, and knows her own worth. Having given in to the attraction  with Aldric, then been left without a word all these months she’s not letting it happen again. Oh No, he had his chance, that boat has sailed….
Except when she sees him, when he’s there in front of her rather than an abstract thought, its much harder to stick to her principles. The boat has sprung a leak and is turning back!
Yes she knows she deserved better, yes he should have made an attempt to at least talk to her, but…maybe he had reasons, maybe its to do with his loss of his mate all those years ago.
Will she be second place though? Will she let him back? She’s conflicted all over again about her feelings, and I love that she doesn’t just roll over and give in to him, that she puts her own worth first. Who wants to play second fiddle, be treated as someone who can be dropped at any time? Not me, and not Natalia.

Aldric, he knows he c ocked up, knows he was out of line.
He was shocked by the strength of his feelings, and scared that he’d fail her as he thinks he failed his mate all those years ago. If he just stays away….and then they’re both brought right back into each others orbit once more.
No time for talking, no time for lust though, there’s a missing vampire to find, to save the current peace talks between vampires and shifters, something most of them want, tired of the same old pointless blood shed.

I enjoyed the way the mystery played out, didn’t guess who was responsible til very close to the reveal, and liked the way Katie explained the processes by which the team came to find out who, where and why.
I hate a reveal that leaves questions unanswered, makes me think “ but why did x do that? How did y know where they were/who they were/how they did z”
I like answers, ones that feel real, feel as if the events could have happened that way if the situation was possible.

Its a fun read, not too dark, not too confusing, and easy suspense mystery with some scorching steam finally from Aldric and Natalia.

Stars: Four, a fun light read that can be enjoyed as part of the series or as a one off read alone.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

