101 Nights Box Set, S.E. Reign

101 Nights Box Set, S.E. Reign
An erotic American Cinderella story

101 Nights Complete Box Set: Billionaire Prince Erotic Romance by [Reign, SE]

Genre:   Romance, Erotica

Sometimes I like a read that’s pure escapist fantasy, the rich guy and the struggling girl kind of thing. This sounded like that and fun, I expected lots of sex as its labelled erotica. In reality though it was a kind of train wreck read, I had to keep reading just to see what was coming. Parts were so off the wall that I wasn’t sure just what would happen next.

Elijah, AKA EJ, is a complete jerk when we meet him. Sex obsessed, selfish, misogynistic, he treats women like whores, doesn’t care what they think, what they feel so long as he gets his way. Oddly for such an obnoxious man he’s got some bery loyal and good freineds, clearly there’s something good buried in him, deeply buried though 🙂
Then his dad, the King, throws a spanner in the playboy lifestyle, and he needs a fiancée. He doesn’t want one in reality, just as a bluff to stop his cousin inheriting the throne.
They’re a dangerous family, death runs through them in a very non accidental accidents way. Bit like the UK historical monarchs then….

Natalie comes along just at the right time. She wants him to save her apartment block from demolition, he agrees so long as she gives him three months as his fiancée, and of course lets him use her body however and whenever he wants.
There’s two big niggles for me right there, the minor one being the apartment block she wants saved houses ten thousand people. Really? A thousand I could accept but ten thousand? The town where I live has a population of around six and a half thousand, and its hard to imagine them and more crammed into one block….maybe its different in US to UK but that just seems a bit too weird to me. If I’m wrong and its common, then sorry but…
My really, really big issue is this though – EJ “I don’t use condoms. You on birth control?”  Then a couple of pages on  – Natalie “I’ve never slept with a stranger before” EJ – “its easier than you think. I do it all the time”…… “I’ve had more one night stands than anything else, sometimes with two women at once. I have no second thoughts about Fu king a stranger, and I don’t care whether she does or not either. Sex is sex.”
So, he doesn’t use condoms yet has sex with anyone and everyone it seems. What a lovely message to pass on, he’s a walking talking STD magnet.
I just find that kind of thing irresponsible writing. Plus of course the pregnancy issue. He doesn’t want kids, and yet is so careless. With that attitude he ought to have a string of them, not least because with his billions there’s be any number of women willing to get pregnant just to get money out of him. Its sad but there’s many like that, and ones that will have sex with a stranger will have lots of them.

Having got that off my chest, onto the story.
Well, it lurches from crisis to drama, to hysteria and back again.
Every time something goes wrong they have sex, every time someone’s in danger they have sex, on the way to a night out they have sex. Its anywhere and everywhere and just dominated the story, and given the drama in it that’s a tough thing to manage!
I love an erotic read, but filling your story with endless sex doesn’t make it an erotic book, just a boring one for me ,and I skipped most of the sex scenes after the first few as they were so repetitive. They just didn’t feel real to me, but put in so that the book could carry the Erotic tag.
On one occasion they have sex in the limo ( well on lots of occasions but I’m thinking of one in particular). She’s an anal virgin, and yet he takes her there, no lube, no condom, just thrusts in…and she orgasms from it!
Please….a little credibility here. That can’t have been comfortable, the floor of a limo isn’t exactly a great situation for your first time, and with no lube or lubed condom it must have hurt. Especially as we’re always being told how generously sized he is 😉

Its that drama filled storyline that kept me reading, despite the unreality of the story, I had to keep reading just to see what the author would throw in next! That’s why it gets 2.5 stars, because although I didn’t like it and I wouldn’t read it again, though I skipped over so much of the sex, and skimmed the padded out parts I DID keep reading. Thats where the train wreck tag fits for me, its like when you just can’t look away even though you know you won’t like what you see….

It could have been a book I enjoyed, the potential was there but there would have to be lots of changes.
Still, its great for others as it is, and that’s fine. Horses for courses and all that. If you like it I’m glad, its just not one for me.

Edit: that 10,000 in a development kept bugging me so had a quick Wiki peek around. “ More than 400,000 New Yorkers reside in NYCHA’s 328 public housing developments across the City’s five boroughs.” Thats what Wiki says… that averages 1,200 or so in each development. Sounds more reasonable doesn’t it?

Stars:two and a half, a train wreck read….

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

