Due South, (The Compass 5),Tamsen Parker

Due South, (The Compass 5),Tamsen Parker

Due South (The Compass series Book 5) by [Parker, Tamsen]

Genre:   Romance, Erotica

I love Tamsen’s Compass series, and this time, book five, we meet Lucy and Evans. Its a bit of a departure from the other stories, not the usual Dom and sub story, but more two people who aren’t in to BDSM but get a hint that they might actually like it. Kind of Compass Lite 😉

Evans and Lucy aren’t into the BDSM scene but then they see India and Cris one night and it shocks them both – they never imagined their boss, the ball breaking, fair but tough woman, would be a sub….and they like what they see, very much.
Its something that’s probably true of very many people, don’t fancy the whole thing, or have never experienced any of it but when they get an introduction, even by unintended voyeurism, they like what they see.
Its why Ann Summers and co do so well. People don’t want to be that open, don’t want to go to a club, but a bit of fun at home appeals.

They are so entranced by what they see that its made them both very turned on, and things happen that lead to some scorching sex.
Office rules forbid office relationships though, and both need their jobs. They agree that as no-one else is likely to be around, it being Christmas and they the only ones working on the special project, they could have a short term bit of fun.

There’s some cracking humour here, funny quotes from both of them that had me sniggering…
Evans-  “if I kept a sword in my office I’d throw myself on it. As things are I’ve only got some pencils in desperate need of a sharpening, a ruler and some paperclips. I couldn’t even injure myself in a dignified manner”

As well as the humour there’s a serious thread, how Evans is tied to his family, how families struggle when things breakdown, and of course poor Lucy’s strong religious upbringing. The sort where someone with generous boobs is told constantly to be aware of not tempting men to do things they shouldn’t.
That old Always the woman’s fault for wearing provocative clothes, looking the wrong way at a man, wearing makeup etc that drives me nuts. What about teaching the men self control, to respect a lady? Sadly its an idea that permeates even a so called modern secular society, where girls/ladies get the blame constantly.
Lucy keeps second guessing her actions, and even though she knows her family’s ideas are wrong she still can’t quite let go of the blame.
Of course the few days come to an end after some serious hot and erotic sex, and neither really want to stop but they’re both so polite, so self effacing, so not convinced that the want is there for the other person too…so what’s going to happen now?

Its a great read, a really nice story, with some steamy encounters, but I did miss the drama of the other stories.

And like many others I’m Desperate for Rey’s story, he’s been tantalised all through the novels, and even though he’s not In this one he’s still there in thoughts when Evan recalls his advice back when India was having a freak out over going in a plane. His book is next – hurrah, I really want to see how he started, know him better than just the man behind the scenes, and India’s good friend.

Stars: Four.

ARC supplied for review purposes by author

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

2 responses to “Due South, (The Compass 5),Tamsen Parker”

  1. Sweden Reese says :

    What a steamy review, Jeannie! You really break down all the themes…love that this is a BDSM story that doesn’t use a club setting for something a bit different. Thanks for the recommendation!

    • jeanniezelos says :

      Thanks Sweden. Sometimes when I write reviews for books I’ve really enjoyed I get carried away – then have to go through chopping swathes out so I can say what it is I liked without giving away too much.
      Tamsen’s a terrific BDSM writer, she does sensuality and eroticism without adding all that off-putting stuff that is in so many “erotic” reads, monosyllabic, grunting alpha males, ladies who roll over and orgasm from the flash of an erection, who have continually “damp panties” – they’re Knickers to us Brits, and it must be uncomfortable going round like that all day.
      I’ve actually got a list of what are to me stomach churning turn off sex terms – you wouldn’t believe what comes up time and time again. sometime I’ll publish them 🙂 when we all need a snigger. Grey days of end jan maybe?

Leave a Reply

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

