Legacy of Lies, Jillian David

Legacy of Lies,  Jillian David 

Legacy of Lies (Hell's Valley) by [David, Jillian]

Genre:  romance, paranormal

I really liked the sound of this story, but had a few issues with it. I haven’t read any of the Hell to Pay books, and when there’s time I’ve book marked them to take a look at esp as they’re currently on KU. So many books, so little time….It may be that I’d have got more out of this book if I’d read them.

So, I love paranormal romance but the romance here felt a little flat for me. Why on earth did Sara go out with Hank before when the guy’s a fruit loop? OK it was a year ago and he wasn’t as crazy, but did he really change so much in a year. Why not go for Garrison as he was there and she’s attracted to him, instead of the nutso?
Made me think she wasn’t a great judge of people, and then as a teacher she’s worried about Zack, which was great, but a couple of times she let the bullying get out of hand because of fear of her job? It didn’t make me like her any better.
Having said that Garrison who she’s got the hots for now is a jerk. Really; he’s surly, rude to her ( and his family most of the time), says all the wrong things even if he means well. Its only with Zack that his good side comes out.
His family too weren’t great, didn’t seem to like each other much, although they all had different problems which were only touched on, so maybe that contributed to it but I just didn’t understand why they all stayed, I needed more of that, to understand them better, to see their reasons.

The paranormal aspect was muted, came out more towards the end but was pretty thin. Jillian says it’s going to build more in the later books and I can see the potential it has, but in this book it just didn’t feel it was made the most of.
I felt that it could have been used more, helped expand some of the areas. When the suspense part hits it comes into play and makes things more understandable, but even then the characters showed their surly sides, with Evan not wanting Shelby to use her talent for finding because its incredibly painful to her and she’s unwell,  even though her nephew Zack, who’s just a kid, is in real danger of dying.

A first book has a hard job setting the plots, bringing in the paranormal and introducing the characters. I can see the potential here, but the characters really need to be more likeable for me, I needed to understand them, care about them more.
As they are I just wasn’t invested in them enough to really care. Its a good story but they need to be more fleshed out, worked on so I can empathise with them, feel for them when things go wrong.
It will be interesting to see if those who’ve read the other series like this one, understand them better and if that’s really just my problem not the characters…it seems that many readers are fine with this issue- as always not all readers like all books 😉

Stars: Three, interesting start to a new series but one which I’m not yet convinced of the characters.

ARC supplied for review purposes by author

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

