Still Air, (Portland ME 4), Freya Barker.

Still Air, (Portland ME 4), Freya Barker.

Still Air (Portland, ME, novels Book 4) by [Barker, Freya]

Genre:  romance,

I came into this series via the second book, which I loved, and somehow missed the third one, but when I saw this I felt I just had to read it, I was so absorbed by Cruel Water, and Viv and Ike. As a couple they felt so right and their stories were so haunting.
I really hoped for more of that with Still Air, but though I enjoyed it, felt the storyline was very realistic, loved seeing the folk at the Skipper again, I wasn’t so convinced about Pam and Dino.

I love both of them as individuals, and the bit I saw of them before left me thinking they were balanced, confident individuals who just didn’t like each other….and yet that was really a face both wore, to keep their own problems hidden.
Poor Pam, when her story came out I was gutted for her, we always strive as parents but life has a way of dumping us in the s hit sometimes. I can see now why she’s so driven, so forceful in helping others put their lives back together.
Then there’s Dino, a quiet guy, couple of kids and we always think he’s content with life, but we find out that too is a public face, behind the scenes he’s got a broken marriage, with a drug addict, callous, bitchy ex, and two teens who’ve seen the fallout in recent years.
Things come to a head and he and Pam cross paths closely. Its make or break time, will they give in to that attraction between them or have one huge fallout!

I really enjoyed looking at the various issues, they’re true for so many people. I love when Dino’s gut reaction to his daughter’s friend is along the lines of No Way you’re getting close to that troublemaker…and then has to pull back when he realises that his son has made some very similar mistakes, and yet he sees Jonas as someone who’s made mistakes, is trying hard now to get past them and stay on track, and if he’s not to be hypocritical he needs to see Gina’s friend in the same way.
So that part was perfect, the issues, the drama, the way they overcame things, a cracking five star read but the romance – and that’s my real reason for reading – just didn’t feel quite right.
It was perfectly written, spicy and sensual, and yet I couldn’t really feel that magic “pull” that sense that they belong together, just can’t stay away. Viv and Ike had that, the sense that they were predestined almost, that somehow life would always set them on each others paths. For Pam and Dino though I felt they were together by convenience rather than destination, like eating a sandwich when you’re hungry rather than going out for a gourmet dinner.

Overall I enjoyed it, felt it was a good read, but expected a little more 😦 from the romance.
Still, that’s me, I can see others feel Pam and Dino are perfect together, you may too.

Stars: four, a great storyline that felt all too real, but I wasn’t convinced wholly by the romance.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

