Long Shadows, Common Law 1, Kate Sherwood

Long Shadows, Common Law 1,  Kate Sherwood

Long Shadows (Common Law Book 1) by [Sherwood, Kate]

Genre:   Romance, LGBTQIA

When I requested this I could see it was first in a series, but of course there’s a gap between that and getting approval, and then getting the book onto my kindle.
Once there the title just comes up as Long Shadows. Having enjoyed a couple of Kate’s past novels which were stand alone I assumed this was also, so was disappointed at the lack of a HEA, lack of any real romance here.
Then….I came to write my review and saw its book one in a series, and that puts a whole different slant on it – I understand now the slow burn of the romance, why Jericho and Wade barely touched, though it was clear both wanted more, much more.
I understand why the ending was a kind of possibilities in the future style. It all makes sense now and I feel totally different.
I was happy with the story, happy at the suspense/mystery angle but had felt let down by the missing romance, but now of course the context is much better, everything slots into place and I’m keen to read book two and onwards.
Funny isn’t it how perception and expectation can change how we view a story?Its the same words I’ve just read, but instead of feeling kind of 3.5 to 4 about it now its a 5 for me.

So we meet Jericho and Wade, one each side of the Law.
Close as kids, closer as teens til Jericho left at 17, and hasn’t been back since. Neither had a great home life and it feels like they were each others support and when they parted it wasn’t on good terms. That’s kind of implied, we don’t really know yet why Wade didn’t leave, why they didn’t keep in touch having been so close.

Jericho has gone on to work in LA as a cop, Wade has stayed behind running several businesses that skirt the law, making a success of them but its clear everyone assumes – and he lets them – that its mainly down to shady dealing and dodgy work.
I really liked both of these guys, loved the way we could feel the pull between them, the underlying sexual tension.
Making up the third main character is Kayla, now the Sheriff after her dad’s retirement, and a former good friend to the lads, lover of Jericho.
The three were always together, Jericho thought that was because they all got along, he’s shocked to discover Kayla and Wade only put up with each other because of the way they feel about Jericho.

There’s a tale unfolding here that not only covers the mystery of Jericho’s dad and his newly discovered half siblings, but which brings the trio back together, reluctantly working and sharing information to find the missing kids.
Its all part of a wider story that will be revealed in further books, and I want to read those and see if Wade and Jericho reconnect – or perhaps Jericho and Kayla will reconnect – or maybe all of them…who knows?
Its certainly left open, though I don’t feel the same connection between Jericho and Kayla as I do with him and Wade.

Stars: Five, a book I really enjoyed, especially now I know its part of a series and there’s more to come from the story.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

