Entwined, JC Harroway

Entwined,  JC Harroway

Entwined (The Recovery Series Book 2) by [Harroway, JC]

Genre:  romance,

I loved, loved JC’s first book so was pleased to get an ARC of this second story. Its tough though following such a great start, so I wondered how it would stand up to that one.
Recovery, JC’s debut story was set around one of my weaknesses –the film star/rock star trope – so it already had an edge, but this one is a second chance romance and I enjoy those too, so I was ready for another cracker.

It was a good read once again, with very believable people and realistic plots and settings, (but as an artist can I just say that though you Can paint with watercolours on specially treated canvas, that’s unusual and paper is the norm…) It didn’t quite have the magic for me of the first book though, it was a fun read but didn’t quite hook me in the same way, keep me gripped to the page, wondering what was coming next.

I loved Jess and of course Morgan – and who wouldn’t?? When we do finally know the reasons for their split, the big secret that gets taunted to us all the way through, it seems a bit light, a little naive, almost implausible. What we have to remember is they were still very young, still teens and judgement and decisions made then aren’t always the best. Don’t you look back at some teen times and wonder how on earth you thought that, did things, believed others when we the passage of time we can see it was all wrong…Of course there was no real reason then to distrust, that came later with time and distance, the ability to see through people.

I loved Melissa, Jess friend and cousin, too though was a little puzzled that the priest pronounced Melissa and Daniel man and wife, when it was Gary she was marrying 😉 I’m reading an ARC though so this hopefully will have been corrected, made me smile though!

Its really centred around why Jess left, what happened, why didn’t she tell anyone what was wrong, especially poor Morgan who thought they were so in love. Now she’s back for the wedding, and they’re both still feeling the pull of the past, and trying hard to just get through the weekend and be civil, never mind how they feel inside. Its really easy to pick up on the fact they still share an intense passion, the air around them crackles with it and there’s some well written steamy scenes between them.

Its an enjoyable read, but felt a bit simplistic in a way, I was sad when the story came out, understood that teens don’t always have a good overview and are not always able to make the best decisions but it still didn’t really fill the story for me.
Unlike the first book, which I could and have re-read, this one is a one off read only.
If you’re looking for a feel-good, light read with a bit of a sad story in the background this may be perfect for you, but for me the drama side was a bit lacking and flat.

Stars: Its more than a three but not quite a four, so three and a half.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

Tags: , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying books, Scrumptious eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

