Archive | February 13, 2017

One More Kiss, (Band on the Run 1), Samantha Chase

One More Kiss,  (Band on the Run 1), Samantha Chase

One More Kiss (Shaughnessy: Band on the Run) by [Chase, Samantha]

Genre:  Romance,

Well, Band on the Run – its going to be a rock star band book isn’t it?
That’s what I was hoping, but sadly its a rock star in hiding book, and for most of the book its just Matt and Viv, having endless conversations about food. Yes that’s right, food.
She’s a food blogger and magazine writer, and I read far, far too much about food. I love food, love recipe books, and am all for the little details in a story that make it real, but there was much more about food in this story than there was about the band/fame/music.

I wasn’t really invested in either character, and although they were the main stay of at least the first half of the story I didn’t really feel I knew them – other than what they liked to eat 🙂
I didn’t really understand why Matt was hiding, for a couple of weeks; maybe a month or so, but news is a hot thing when its celebs, and out of the public eye he’d soon be forgotten.
I thought as a musician he’d be doing more about that while staying with Aaron, Viv’s brother and his long time friend, but mostly he just seemed to be drifting, stopping in to talk about and eat food with Viv.
I just didn’t really feel that I knew either of them well, and I need that to be invested in what happens to the characters.

The kiss: the blurb has it as if he’d never forgotten it or Viv, but though there’s a neat explanation about it to me that didn’t feel genuine, it felt more likely that he’d kissed her while drunk and then it was gone from his mind, though not from hers.
He really was a jerk back then, and I’m not really sure why Viv is so attracted to him, as she hasn’t seen him in years and he was her brothers friend not hers, so she doesn’t know anything other than his public persona. The attraction just felt contrived, forced and I couldn’t see it being real.

They both had family issues too, that could have made for a great bit of drama but…it kind of fizzled out. I wasn’t convinced by the convenient solutions to those issues, they just didn’t feel real, after all the things we’d read about them.
There were a few things like that which I thought were going to lead up to some dramatic reveals, surprises, issues but they didn’t. I guess at least I can’t say the story was predictable!!

Its my second Samantha Chase novel, the first was a sweet story which I sort of enjoyed  but wasn’t really pulled into, and I felt it was a little predictable. After reading this one I think maybe she’s an author who writes books that many, many readers love, but whose writing style doesn’t mix with what I want to read.
That’s how it goes, not all books suit all readers, no matter how well the story is written, some love them some don’t.
Its not a reflection of how good or bad a story is, simply that it didn’t work for me personally.

Stars: Two, one of those well written reads that others will love but which didn’t work for me.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest reviews for children's, middle grade, teen and adult books.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author