Archive | May 24, 2017

The Nanny Arrangement, Rachel Harris

The Nanny Arrangement, Rachel Harris

The Nanny Arrangement (Country Blues Book 2) by [Harris, Rachel]

Genre:  Romance, Women’s Fiction

I saw the Rock star connection and clicked, well its an Entangled book and I know from past experience I enjoy those. What missed me was its a Bliss imprint, and though I enjoy those, I do find them a little sweet, cute, and short on the drama.

That’s how this book worked for me, great characters, interesting story but very low key, muted dramatics. I was hoping Krista might throw some fireworks in but….

Hannah’s lovely, a very genuine person with a great heart. Like any kid who’s a bit different she was bullied at school, and as I know from experience kids can be cruel and that does affect confidence long term. That’s how it was for Hannah, outwardly she’s fine but inside always waiting for the drop.
She’s been a great friend to Deacon, wanted for a long time to be more but he seems to have her firmly in the friendship zone. Now she’s determined to have one good try at getting his attention instead of always waiting and living with regrets.

Its a fun read, the toddlers are cute, the other band members great and Deke and Hannah? Well its clear they both feel for each other but neither really thinks the other is attracted, there’s lots of inward musings about what if, maybe, can I? Etc.
Deke’s worried about Max too, his little son who adores Hannah, and concerned that if he makes a move and it goes wrong Max will lose Hannah, and he doesn’t want to risk that. there’s times when I just wanted to shriek at each of them “go for it, can’t you see what he/she wants?” but of course that would end the book a lot sooner.

Its an enjoyable read, well written and perfect if you like a sweet, simple romance with a decent backstory. Me? I really like more fireworks, sparks, drama, and sadness I can wallow in.
I enjoyed this but as a one off read, but of course as always what I want isn’t necessarily what you want.

Stars: Three, good story, well written but a bit light for me.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author