Mind Over Matter, Nora Roberts. The Scars Between Us, MK Schiller

Mind Over Matter, A Passionate and Intriguing Novel of Suspense, Nora Roberts

Mind Over Matter by [Roberts, Nora]

Genre: Romance

I’ve read a few of Nora’s stories over the years, both as Nora Roberts and JD Robb, but not for a while, so I thought it would be fun to dip back into her world.

This was a fun read, touched upon the supernatural world with Clarissa being a psychic, and I enjoyed it but it wasn’t one that kept me gripped to the page, with that can’t put down feel. It’s not really suspense as I’d describe it, more anovel of secrets and intrigue.

I liked David, and the attraction between him and AJ was evident from the go get. Sometimes authors try for that and it fails, her it was perfect. what made it even more fun was neither were looking for or intending to have a relationship. It was further-est thing from both their minds and yet they couldn’t keep away, two people who avoid any kind of closeness with others, and yet this need they have overcomes it.

I loved Clarissa, and understood why AJ was so protective of her. Sadly its a human failing people either want to knock you down, disprove of what you’re saying or see how it can benefit them, and those like Clarissa who are so genuinely kind and helpful would get everything they had sucked out of them if not for protectors like AJ.

Its a mix of romance(s) and eye opening to things we may not want to see, to admitting not everything in life can be tidily boxed up and explained. I enjoyed it but it won’t be one I’d re-read as I have others from this author.

Stars: four, an enjoyable, fairly slow paced story. Not everything has to be a race to the finish though.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

The Scars Between Us, MK Schiller

The Scars Between Us by [Schiller, MK]

Genre: New Adult, Romance

The only book I’d read by this author was Where the lotus flowers grow, and I loved that so was eager to read this. But for me it was..well, a good story but not one I could connect with.

There’s lots of questions around who is who, how they connect, what happened in the past, but very few answers.
I found the story really hard to get into, although on the surface it has all the elements that attract me. Somehow I just couln’t understand of feel for Emma or Aiden. I liked them but that’s about it, and all the hints and mysteries about their pasts I found irritating, annoying instead of tantalising, and some of the dialogue was cheesy, kind of forced feeling.

The drama at the end when all the secrets come out is good, but even then there were parts I found myself rolling my eyes at – thinking “really? The whole town???”
Its like the author had a good idea but had to milk it to the fullest, and to me that makes it feel just false and overdone. Sometimes Less if More 😉

Still, that’s just my view, and I can see others love this story, that’s its really resonated, impacted them.
That’s the way it goes, everyone want’s different things so while this was a fail for me you may love it.

Stars: Two, a god, well written novel but it just didn’t engage me. You may feel otherwise.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

