Seducing Abby Rhodes, J. D. Mason

Seducing Abby Rhodes, J. D. Mason

Seducing Abby Rhodes: A Novel by [Mason, J. D.]

Genre: Multicultural Interest.

I saw the synopsis for this, thought “romance” and as it had a great prospective nasty B itch female – I love those – I requested. It wasn’t until writing this review I saw the Multicultural Interest tag.
I did notice after the first couple of chapters that Jordan isn’t the usual white, well connected, Alpha male and thought then how refreshing it was to read of a male coloured lead. We see ladies of colour in romance, almost always gorgeous Latino types 😉 but I can’t recall the last time I read one with a male lead. That’s a shame, and bad in that it certainly doesn’t fit reality. I was pretty ashamed too, that until then I’d just made the assumption that he was white. Says much for today’s stereotypes and how they lead to unconscious bias. I’ll try to work harder at avoiding it in future.

I loved Abby, a real Lady and so hard working. My type of lead lady. She’s not afraid to get her hands dirty, join in and work with her construction crew on the pull down and build up of her projects. As someone who loves to garden and usually has somewhat dry and scrubbed hands and nails, rather than elegant manicures that was good to read.
The romance between her and Jordan takes place pretty quickly, and was really believable. Even though they are very different sorts of character, very contrasting backgrounds I could feel the pull between them. And of course when Robin got involved that was perfect for me.
Characters like hers add so much fun to a story. I do wish there were more like her! Educated, gorgeous looking and determined to hang on to her catch, to do whatever it takes to me the next Mrs Xyz.

Of course there are always things in people’s pasts which could be misinterpreted, and Jordan has a few more issues than most people. I really wanted to know the connections, the real story, and little hints kept being teased out but determining what was real, what actually happened wasn’t easy and I didn’t get it til the reveal.

The biggest problem for me in this story was when things did play out they felt almost anti-climatic, after all the big build up. It felt like there should have been more consequences, stronger reactions somehow, it just felt kind of faded, muted to me.
Still, that’s me, drama all the way is what I love, and I did like the way when things went wrong for Abby and Jordan that it was stretched out, given a good working over, not a two-pages-later-and-all-is-well solution.
I like breakups to be solid, heartbreaking, to really wring at my emotions.

I hadn’t read any of the earlier books, and maybe if I had the revelations of the past would have worked better for me, knowing what happened, or some of it. I had a little trouble remembering who was whom at first too, and if I’d met the characters before that would have been easier to follow. Never the less this can be read as a complete read, a stand alone in its own right.
One day I’d like to read the earlier books, I really like JDM’s writing style and the types of characters she creates.

There is a very slight supernatural element here, a little ghostly action, people from the past interacting with those in the present, and that was fun, but a very minor part of the story.

Stars: Four, a enjoyable story with some solid plots and intrigues…

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

