Foxglove Copse, A Porthkennack novel, Alex Beecroft

Foxglove Copse, A Porthkennack novel, Alex Beecroft

Genre: Romance, LGBTQIA

Well, I almost always enjoy Riptide novels – I think maybe there’s a handful out of many reads that haven’t worked for me. Porthkennack novels I love too, remind me of Bluewater by the sea 😉 and of course its written by Alex Beecroft.

It was great being back in Porthkennack, and meeting the mighty Luscombes again….and a update on Brix, I loved that guy. There were some terrific new characters too who I hope we catch up with in later novels.

Sam’s wandered into Porthkennack on his travels escaping from his awful family.
Poor Sam, he really is suffering, had what seemed like a charmed life to many, wealthy family, great, high earning job, home of his own. The pressures of keeping it all up, earning the high income which stressed his conscience, trying to keep up with his family, who just don’t understand him, don’t even attempt to, led to him almost breaking though and he knew he had to get away, go off grid so to speak.
Now funds are low and he doesn’t want to go back, even thinking about it brings on panic attacks. They can be incredibly scary, and I so felt for Sam. Going back would probably kill him, and somehow I felt his family were so awful they’d rather he died than have to explain to their freinds why Sam is different. No wonder he left.

He meets Ruan under difficult circumstances. His aunt has been having sheep ritualistically  killed and Sam comes across one freshly butchered, and there he is, on the scene, a stranger in the village when Ruan and his aunt find him.
Ruan soon sees Sam just isn’t capable of doing something like this, but Sam can’t move on as his aunt is determined that the police will do something, so insists on pressing charges. I loved Ruan, perfect foil for Sam. He felt slightly Fey almost, with an uncanny insight and unusual way of dealing with issues. The attraction between the two was just perfect, and I loved this story.

I really enjoyed the way the story unfolded, the sheep killings that needed to be stopped, the way the teens in the village came into the story. It had a real camaraderie about it, but also some pretty scary events too, things that are too common in this age of technology and cyber crime.
I enjoyed too the descriptions of how Sam had adapted the van, how he used nature to support himself, the bender tent, the makings of the fire, cooking outside, and the use of solar energy. It all felt so real. Its a mix too of the old ways, living off the land, and the new, Sam’s talent with PCs means his laptop, powered by solar, lets him stay connected, keep up with life, find out information on his interests, which converge neatly with the satanic ritualistic appearing killings he comes across. He fits in so well, has the skills they need and is able to be himself.

Its real village life here too, where everyone knows everyone, history and feuds go back generations, and often the law is put in place outside the actual Law, dealt with by villagers who protect their own.

Its not just a romance, but a story with so much more, and that’s just what I look for. One to keep and reread.

Stars: Five, beautiful tender romance, wrapped up in some very real suspense.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

