Royal Pain, A His Royal Hotness Novel, Tracy Wolff

Royal Pain, A His Royal Hotness Novel, Tracy Wolff

Royal Pain: A His Royal Hotness Novel by [Wolff, Tracy]

Genre:  Romance,

I love Tracey’s novels so was really pleased to see a new one coming out. Sadly though this wasn’t a great fit for me.

I liked it, its well written and has lots of Tracey’s added details that make her writing so addictive but I just felt that the sex overtook the story this time.
I love sex in a story and of course Tracey writes that so well, but I want it to be a supporting part and here I felt it took the lead, edged out what was actually happening with the characters. there was so much other things happening, of such importance but somehow all I can really recall writing this the day after reading it is the sex….

I felt, especially given her history, that Savvy was very quick to jump into bed with Kian, she held off from any kind of relationship for a bit, which felt right, and then wham, one kiss and they’re hot and heavy.
As much as he enjoyed it at the time the term playboy prince fitted Kian, and now he wants more with Savvy he can’t be surprised that she doubts his intentions. Add on that she’s already been left by others, and she doesn’t want to play second, third, fourth place in his life after other people call on his attentions.
I can see that, agree with it, but given they’ve only just got together, haven’t in fact had so much as a date yet it seems a bit soon to be setting out conditions.

Somehow it stayed just in the “Good” side of the ratings for me, and I’d expected it to be a “Great” read. Its not one I’d reread, even though I liked both characters.
I felt there was so much packed into a relatively short read (just over 3000 kindle locations – around 200 -220 kindle pages I’d guess) that nothing really got explored in any depth, and they went from flirty sparring conversations which I loved, to full on lovers in the blink of an eye. No dates, not even out for a coffee…
I expected a bit more too of the past to creep in, that’s certainly a bit of an eye opener and could have caused issues, but it didn’t.
Goodreads describes this as book one, so I wasn’t sure if there was more to come from Kian and Savvy, or whether book two would be Garret’s story. More of this story could fill in some of the blanks I found, the gaps that felt wrong to me and explain why i feel there’s a lot left sort of open but then I found book two IS Garret’s story.
Will I read it? Yes, like I said usually Tracey’s stories are a hit for me, steamy and sensual with cracking backstories so I’m hoping this was just a one off one that wasn’t the best for me.

Stars: Three, a good story but for me not a great one.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

