Free book, If You Were Mine – Melanie Harlow. Second Destiny,The older generation broke them apart, the younger generation reunites them, Gloria Silk

If You Were Mine  Melanie Harlow

If You Were Mine by [Harlow, Melanie]I haven’t yet read this, but its free for a limited time, and I’ve loved other Melanie Harlow books so its on my kindle now 😉

Theo MacLeod wasn’t supposed to be the one.

Tall, dark and handsome suits me just fine, but the cocky grin, know-it-all attitude, and mammoth ego? No thanks. I only hired him so I wouldn’t have to sit at the singles table again. It was just pretend.

He wasn’t supposed to kiss me.

My heart wasn’t supposed to pound.

We weren’t supposed to spend the night together—the hottest night of my life.

One night turns into a snowed-in weekend away, and even the blizzard of the century can’t cool the fire between us. I can’t get enough—of his smile, of his body, of the way he makes me feel.

We’re nothing alike. He’s a daredevil, and I’m a nervous Nellie. He’s a drifter, and I want to put down roots. He’s an opportunist with a checkered past, and I’m a Girl Scout volunteer.

But none of it matters when I’m in his arms.

I know he’s made mistakes. I know his wounds are deep, and he doesn’t trust easily. I know he doesn’t believe he could ever be enough to make me happy, but he could.

All he has to do is stay.

 

Second Destiny,The older generation broke them apart, the younger generation reunites them, Gloria Silk
First and Only Destiny: First Love, First Kiss, Forever Love? by [Silk, Gloria]
Genre: General fiction (adult) , Romance

I thought this sounded interesting, conflict of religions, conflict of career v relationship, and then Lia’s daughter falls in love with Devraj’ nephew Sanjay, and its the race/religion issue all over again.

Times change though and Lia’s daughter Danielle is determined to stand up for her love. She’s the same age as Lia was when she fell in love with Devraj, but very different in strength, outlook, confidence.
Lia’s brought her up sure of her own worth, whereas she was only of value to her family for the marriage she could make, not herself, her art, just a woman to be married off to the right man, the one the family chose, not the one she loved.
Its kind of easy to say she should have been stronger, but if you aren’t brought up to express your own feelings, push for your own way, know your own value then its hard to go against family pressure.
Lia’s a grown woman now though and she frustrated me, she’s still faffing about, not sure of what she wants and I just didn’t see what reasons she had to push Devraj away as she did. She’s still in love with him, she can have her newly fledged career and him, but she seems to think its an either/or situation, and I don’t see where that comes from.

I loved Danielle and Sanjay – very much in love, very determined to stay together. They have a real maturity about them that they’ll need, given the families opposition. Danielle’s dad is a typical misogynistic guy, men have all the answers, women are there for men’s convenience. He only pays lip service to his religion too – sadly there’s many like that, outwardly devoted to whatever religion, while actually ignoring all the tenants of it.
Gabe, Danielle’s younger brother was a great kid and felt very real, I liked his parts in the story.

Devraj, I understood his bitterness at Lia, but didn’t see where this antagonistic view of Danielle was coming from. He seemed the last person to me to object, if his nephew was happy, but at first he was so determined to split them up – then he does a complete turnaround, and that just didn’t feel real, didn’t sit right with me.

The story itself is a mix of Danielle and Sanjay, Lia and Devraj, and plods along gently, but without any real plots IMO. I felt it was filling pages much of the time rather than telling a story. I didn’t feel the drama, didn’t feel the situations were real, and that coloured my whole view of the romance(s).
The slightly clunky addition to the title sums up the way the novel felt to me, potentially great but for me too dated and bland, a lot like reading a 70’s M&B novel – millions of readers love them, and I’m happy for them, but they’re not for me.

Stars: Two and a half, sounded really interesting, there were a few good bits but mostly too bland for me.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

