Adam, Doms of the Silver Screen Book 2, Marie Tuhart. Breaking Hollywood, Samantha Towle

Adam, Doms of the Silver Screen Book 2, Marie Tuhart

Adam (Doms of the Silver Screen Book 2) by [Tuhart, Marie]

Genre: erotica, Romance

I struggled with book one in this series as it was just so short, but having enjoyed other books by Marie I wanted to give this series another go. Hollywood – one of my trigger tropes so I really wanted to like this series.
Sadly though this one is longer, just over 150 pages compared to 65 for book one, I still didn’t really enjoy it. It was the characters that didn’t work for me more than the story. Adam made me so so cross, and Nicki, well – I wanted to say Stand up for yourself woman!

Adam as a Dom was a complete failure IMO. I only know BDSM from books, but everything I’ve ever read suggests Doms consider their Subs needs first, and are always very composed, restrained, in control.
Adam isn’t, he’s angry, hot headed, jealous even though he has no cause, and to me he doesn’t deserve to be a Dom. Having someone’s trust means earning it and treating it as something precious, but he just steamrollers over Nicki’s feelings, ignores her wishes to get the result he wants. Bad Dom!!
And yet Nicki is so busy blaming herself for everything that when wrong. I wanted to shout at her, Stand up for yourself, he’s in the wrong, not you. They seem trapped in a vicious circle.
They reel from crisis to crisis, getting together for some hot and heavy scenes off-screen, and then something – usually Adam’s jealousy, crops up and its all off. I could see where the yoyo-ing was exhausting and why Nicky had enough.

When they do finally try to get to the bottom of their issues, to work things out I wasn’t convinced that what they did was the answer, they had much deeper issues, and needed to do so much more IMO before they stood a chance as a happy couple. Sometimes Love just isn’t enough, its needs some outside help and intervention.

A series that sounded perfect for me, but which has turned out to be one I’m better off without. As always though this will be perfect for other readers, even though its not one for me.
I do like Marie’s style, and have enjoyed other books she’s written, so though I’ll stay away from more of these I’ll happily look at others she has.

Stars: 2.5, there were bits I enjoyed but overall it was a miss for me.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

 

Breaking Hollywood, Samantha Towle

Genre:  Romance

Well, I loved the Storm reads, loved the Alexandra Jones ones too – years back when I read them, but like other readers pretty annoyed that series never finished. Its a real pet hate of mine that.
So I know I enjoy Samantha’s writing style, but this book didn’t quite hit the spot 😦

I guess that “hilarious” tag should have warned me. I’ve found in the past that’s usually humour that feels forced, and that’s exactly what I found here. At first I did find their banter funny, but it got old pretty quick, and at times felt like two teens were joking around not two adults.
I was disappointed too that almost all the book seems to take place in his apartment, and though he’s a Hollywood star he seems to be able to go out incognito pretty easily, and there wasn’t any actual film connection other than them spending a couple of pages talking about his past films and reading a script.
He could have been anyone, there wasn’t anything of the film world included and for me that was a big lack.

The romance was cute, I did feel some serious Lust between them but Love? I’m not sure about that. Whatever they feel Gabe falls at the first hurdle though, and even though the evidence looks solid he didn’t even question it internally, just waded in with blame. #Fail, Gabe!
There’s an event that makes this part clear to see coming from a long way off, and if it had been a bit more protracted then I could have got past that. However when the sh it hits the fan it blows over very quickly, and Ava just knuckles under and comes back. Gah, he was Awful to her, I wanted her to make him work a bit more, not just accept his apologies.

The pygmy goat….well, I’m keeping quiet on that except to say goats are Spawn of the Devil, I grew up with them, and Pygmies are no different 😉 They eat everything except what they should, smell atrocious – even the females ( though I don’t know what sex Gucci is it wears pink so I guess female), and how the heck she house-trained one that’s only 4 months old… a dog, cat, even a rabbit would have been a better choice, goats don’t belong in flats.

Its a decent read, if you like forced humour then you’ll probably love it. I’ve read other books where the humour has spoiled the story for me, but where its made it a five star read for other people. Thankfully we all have different tastes so this could be just what you want, it isn’t great for me though.

Stars: three, an OK read, but not the story I was hoping for.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Author of Siren's Wave, a rock romance novel

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

