London, Can You Wait?, Jacquelyn Middleton

London, Can You Wait?, Jacquelyn Middleton

London, Can You Wait? by [Middleton, Jacquelyn]

Genre: New Adult, Romance

When I was approved for this ARC I bought book one, London belongs to me.
I love the fame trope, the rock star, film, theatre settings and personalities so wanted to read Alex and Marks early story. TBH though I was underwhelmed, it was OK but not great for me, a bit …err…average, mundane. If this hadn’t been an ARC I wouldn’t have read it.
What a shame that would be though, its a Fabulous read, packed with drama, emotion, heartbreak, betrayals, love, lust and some incredible characters, all the things I love about this genre. I’d hate to have missed it and its definitely one for my keepers/re-reader files!

So we begin with Alex and Mark living together, both striving to build their respective careers, and finding it hard to make time for each other.
Mark has been successful in getting a TV role and now has become a household name, and the little bit of time they do get together gets broken into by fans, by his agent, by last minute opportunities he can’t turn down.
Alex feels like she’s last down the list but doesn’t want to be That Girl. You know, the one that can’t cope, gets needy, ruins his career. she knows how much this means to him, he’s been so supportive of her career, even when she was thinking of giving up she just can’t complain now his is taking off. things have to improve surely?
But they don’t and the time spent apart gets longer and longer, visits get put off, holidays cancelled and Alex panic attacks which had been pretty stable get worse.

And then, just over a third of the way in crisis hits – I really didn’t see that coming, and its heartbreaking, shocking, unbelievable.
Getting that so early made the story for me, I adore drama and heartbreak – so long as I know there’s a HEA of course! So often its there and done with in just a few pages, so to have it covering a huge section of the book was perfect for me.  I was wondering, nail biting, could they survive this, get past it? How would things work out?
The surprises just keep coming too. We were there as both Alex and Mark grew as a result of what happened, how they needed to change, needed to sort out their lives and both became stronger people for it. We’re all a product of our pasts, what happens to us shapes us, and there are some big secrets from the past here to come out.

Its not all Alex and Mark though, but Harry,Tom, Lucy, Freddie, Si, a great supporting cast who’s stories played their own part in building this wonderful second part of the novel.
It had everything part one lacked for me, and more. I’m so glad I didn’t stop at LBTM, and read more from these guys, it had me laughing, crying, heartbroken, angry, furious, well…you name the emotion and this book brought it out.
A terrific read and clearly writing LBTM has helped Jacquelyn hone her writing skills for this genre. I look forward to what she does next.

Stars: five, a fantastic second half, a story so much more than part one.

ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

J.A. Hazel

Australian Indie Rock Star Romance Novels

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book reviews! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

Reads and Treats

Satisfying Books and Scrumptious Eats

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

The place where book addicts go for their book fix!

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

Lorna Soar

Feltmaker & Artist

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Brandy L Rivers

New York Times and USA Today Best selling Author

