Arash: Vol 1. Shadow Hunt Elke Schuster

 

 

 

ARC supplied via Netgalley.

 

I love fantasy books especially those with a romantic element. Of course the genre is swamped with vampires and shape-shifters so something new is always a treat. Elke gives us the Arash, beings who begin as humans and become Arash through careful selection – no bloodsucking and biting involved! just those who fit certain criteria. Once Arash they can live among humans unnoticed if they are careful not to be seen, and are almost immortal. They can be killed by other Arash but I’m not certain if humans can kill them, certainly there don’t seem to be hunters as is usual with vampires and shape-shifters.

This book involves a group of six Arash, who call themselves family and are in close contact. Their selection procedures have shown another suitable candidate is around and they search for him or her. Natalie, the youngest one, befriends Livia thinking she may be the person they seek. Livia has an unhappy background, her mother killed herself when she was a baby and her stepmother and stepsister don’t really feel like family. Livia always feels inferior and slightly isolated from both family and her few friends. She is drawn in by Natalie instantly, they seem to get on so well and she can’t help liking the vivacious and friendly girl, and the story goes on from there.

Its a fabulous group of “people” Elke has created, and they have their own very strict rules and laws about how they can behave to each other, and to humans to keep themselves hidden. I really love the concept, its fresh and unusual, something different in the well worn fantasy genre. Elke people are so well drawn they feel real and I immediately felt that I was among them and understood them as real characters, I empathised with poor Livia for feeling at odds with her family and was upset over her relationship breakup – dumped by face-book, sadly this is becoming a modern concept 😦 Natalie, well who couldn’t like her, and her family, the delicious Rupert – attractive but in some ways a bit of a flake, a fence-sitter, then there’s Will, he’s special, super intelligent and so kind to everyone. Ruth – super-bitch in some ways, she’s very anti Natalie and out to prevent her joining the family if she can but in ways that won’t be attributed to her, and then Cassius. I loved him from the start, he seems outwardly quite cold but I suspect much of it is self protective. Of course there’s the two others Randolph and Augustus ( think that’s the names) – we don’t see so much of them, they seem to be the “older” generation and though the whole family meet often this book is centred around the younger group mainly. All have their odd quirks but feel real, not cardboard characters but people you could chat to, enjoy a drink or meal with.

The story starts with Livia in some kind of mental institution and I had the horrible feeling it was going to end that way too 😦 and be one of those “it was all a dream” creations. I hate those, I feel cheated by that as a plot so I was really really glad to be proved wrong. We then meet Livia just before she’s contacted by Natalie and slowly the story unfolds. My heart was up sometimes and other times down, as the way Elke writes had me feeling emotions along with the characters, what they felt I felt and I was hoping for things to turn out a certain way. The beginning scenes shows context later in the book and I understood what was happening then and how it fitted the plot.

 

Its great that although this is vol one and a scene setter it has a real plot and story-lines, and ends what I call Properly, not a horrible cliffhanger ending but one that ties up neatly although clearly hints at next book. There’s a sample of how the next book starts at the end, and that and the content of this one certainly has me drooling with anticipation for what looks to be a fantastic series. Elke, I hope you write quickly as I need more NOW!! 🙂

Well written and edited and at £3.35 for 288 pages its a bargain and definitely one that bears reading over again. One for my keeper files.

Stars: full five, I simply loved this book and devoured it in one long sitting ( I am a quick reader and it is the main way I pass the day..). Roll on book two- please 🙂

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

jeannie's house renovation

buying a new home, updating, making suitable for a wheelchair user. ( Me!)

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book blog! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

Alexis Hall

Genrequeer Writer of Kissing Books

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

Book Information and Reviews.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.